Skip to main content
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Computing Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on computing. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Computing Subject Areas:

004.6782 Cloud Computing
005.1 Software Engineering
005.133 Object Oriented Programming/Specific Programming Languages
005.74 Database Systems
005.8 Data Security
006.3 / 006.312 Data Mining
006.74 Markup Languages (HTML, CSS etc.)
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics/Data Analysis
658.05 Computer Applications
658.4012 Strategic Management
658.403 Decision Making/Problem Solving
658.4038 Business Information Systems /  Management Information Systems
808.0666 Research in Computing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Computing eBooks:

Castledine, E. and Sharkie, C. (2012) jQuery: Novice to ninja. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Miner, D. and Shook, A. (2012) MapReduce design patterns. O'Reilly.

Chin, R. (2014) Beginning android 3D game development. O'Reilly.

Russell, S. and Norvig, P. (2016) Artificial intelligence: A modern approach. 3rd edn. Dawsonera.

Dennis, A., Wixom, B. H., and Roth, R. M. (2012) System analysis and design. 5th edn. O'Reilly.

Savitch, W. (2012) Absolute java: International edition. 5th edn. Dawsonera.

Harris, A. (2013) HTML5 game development for dummies. O'Reilly.

Wong, K. D. (2012) Fundamentals of wireless communication engineering technologies. O'Reilly.

Jamro, M. (2013) Windows phone 8 game development. O'Reilly.

   

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or the following databases:

DawsonEra Books by DawsonEra

User Guide

O'Reilly Learning by O'Reilly

User Guide

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Computing Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Includes over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Subject Areas: 
Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Computing Journals:

ACM Computing Surveys (Database: ACM Digital Library / Business Source Ultimate)
Communications of the ACM (Database: ACM Digital Library / Business Source Ultimate)
Computer Fraud & Security (Database: ScienceDirect)
Future Generation Computer Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate) *See access information below
IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Software (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Services Computing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Information Systems Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Cloud Computing (Open Access: SpringerOpen /  EBSCO Open Access Journals)
Journal of Computer Security (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate)
Service-Oriented Computing & Applications (SOCA) (Database: IEEE Xplore)

Harvard Business Review:

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Ultimate. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent url. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be put/linked to Moodle

Click here for 500 Article Titles

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Computing External Websites:

Businessballs https://www.businessballs.com/
ERP4Students https://www.erp4students.eu/
GCFLearnFree - Access 2010 https://edu.gcfglobal.org/en/access2010/
IBM - Unified Modeling Language https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/rational/newto/
International Institute of Business Analysis https://www.iiba.org/
MindTools https://www.mindtools.com/
MYSQL https://www.mysql.com/
Object Management Group https://www.omg.org/
Open Web Application Security Report https://www.owasp.org/index.php/Main_Page
PentesterLab https://pentesterlab.com/
Potswigger Web Security - Burp Suite https://portswigger.net/burp
SANS https://www.sans.org/
SAP https://www.sap.com/index.html

Notice:

Owing to the current isolation restrictions, we cannot currently offer face to face appointments, but please be aware we are still fully operational in terms of offering remote assistance for your assignments and research. If we can be of any help whatsoever, please do not hesitate to email us.

Keith
Brittle

Cory
Newbigging

 


For Quick Queries:


Visit our page:

https://libguides.ncirl.ie/libraryhelpcentre

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.