Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Law Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on law. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Law Subject Areas:

344.41501 Health & Safety Law (Ireland); Employment Law (Ireland)
346.41702 Irish Contract Law
346.417066 Irish Company Law
346.41707 Irish Business Law; Irish Commercial Law
349.417 Irish Law

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Law Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through
Academic Search Complete
Subject Areas: 
Multi-disciplinary including Law

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Better Regulation
Subject Areas: Accounting, Finance, Company, Pensions, Tax Law

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

Westlaw IE
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Law Journals:

Bar Review (Database: Westlaw)
Commercial Law Practitioner (Database: Westlaw)
Employment Law Review (Database: Westlaw)
Ethics & Information Technology (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Irish Employment Law Journal (Database: Westlaw)
Irish Law Times (Database: Westlaw)
Legal Ethics (Database: Academic Search Complete)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Law External Websites:

British and Irish Legal Information Institute http://www.bailii.org/
Central Bank of Ireland https://www.centralbank.ie/
Centre for Risk, Banking & Financial Services https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/business/BusinessCentres/CRBFS
Citizens Information https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/
Competition and Consumer Protection Commission https://www.ccpc.ie/
Courts Service of Ireland http://www.courts.ie/
Data Protection Commissioner https://www.dataprotection.ie/
Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation https://dbei.gov.ie/en/What-We-Do/EU-Internal-Market/EU-Directives
Eur-Lex - European Union Law https://eur-lex.europa.eu/
European Commission: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion http://ec.europa.eu/social
European Securities and Markets Authority https://www.esma.europa.eu/
Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman https://www.fspo.ie/
Health and Safety Authority http://www.hsa.ie/eng/
Houses of the Oireachtas https://www.oireachtas.ie/
Irish Council for Civil Liberties https://www.iccl.ie/
Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission https://www.ihrec.ie/
Irish Statute Book  http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/
IT Law Community https://www.scl.org/
Law Society of Ireland https://www.lawsociety.ie/
Workplace Relations https://www.workplacerelations.ie/en/


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.