Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Psychology Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give information on books, ebooks, databases and other useful resources.

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on psychology. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites 
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Psychology Subject Areas:

150 Psychology
150.15195 Statistics in Psychology
150.1943 Behaviour Analysis
150.1952 Freud
150.72 Research (Methods) in Psychology
150.9 History of Psychology
152 Biological Basis of Behaviour
153 Cognitive Psychology
153.15 Psychology of Learning
153.42 Psychology of Thinking
155 Developmental Psychology / Lifespan Development
155.2 Personality and Individual Development
302 Social Psychology
302.35 Organisational Behaviour / Workplace Psychology
305.231 Child Development
370.1523 Educational Psychology / Learning & Teaching
616.0019 Health Psychology
616.89 Abnormal Psychology

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Psychology eBooks:

Boyd, D., & Bee, H. (2015). Lifespan development. (7th ed.). VLeBooks.

Maltby, J., Day, L., & Macaskill, S. (2017). Personality, individual differences and intelligence. (4th ed.). VLeBooks.

Eysenck, M. W., & Keane, M. T. (2010). Cognitive psychology: A student's handbook. (6th ed.). VLeBooks. Pallant, J. (2020) SPSS survival manual: A step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS. (7th ed.). ProQuest eBook Central.
Field, A. (2018). Discovering statistics using IBM SPSS statistics. (5th ed.). SAGE edge. Pierce, W. D., & Cheney, C. D. (2013). Behavior analysis and learning. (4th ed.). VLeBooks.
Gorard, S. (2013). Research design: Creating robust approaches for the social sciences. SAGE Research Methods. Pinel, J. P. J., & Barnes, S. J. (2017) Biopsychology. (10th ed.). VLeBooks.
Gravetter, F. J., & Forzano, L-A. B. (2018). Research methods for the behavioral sciences. (6th ed.). VLeBooks. Santrock, J. W. (2018) A topical approach to life-span development. (9th ed.). ProQuest eBook Central.
Hogg, M. A., & Vaughan, G. M. (2018) Social psychology. (8th ed.). VLeBooks. Skinner, B. F. (1957) Verbal behavior. APA PsycBooks.
Howitt, D., & Cramer, D. (2014). Introduction to research methods in psychology. (4th ed.). VLeBooks. Smith, G. E., & Farias, S. T. (Eds.). (2018). APA handbook of dementia. APA PsycBooks.
Howitt, D., & Cramer, D. (2020) Research methods in psychology. (6th ed.). ProQuest eBooks Central. Stangor, C. (2014). Principles of social psychology. OpenTextBC.
Kalat, J. W. (2018). Biological psychology. (13th ed.). VLeBooks.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Psychology Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Academic Search Complete
Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary database including Education and includes access to the New Yorker

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

APA PsycArticles
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
APA PsycCritiques
Subject Area: Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

APA PsycExtra
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

APA PsycInfo
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

APA PsycTests
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Education Research Complete
Subject Areas: 
Education from early childhood to higher education.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas:
 Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Area: Psychology, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista
Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off-campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Psychology Journals (select an alphabetical range below):

Addiction (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Aggression and Violent Behavior (Database: ScienceDirect)
American Journal of Psychiatry (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
American Journal of Public Health (Database: Education Research Complete)
American Psychologist (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences (Database: Academic Search Complete)
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology (Database: Annual Reviews Open Access)
Annual Review of Psychology (Database: Annual Reviews Open Access)
Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry (Database: SAGE Journals)
Behavior Research Methods (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Behaviour Research and Therapy (Database: ScienceDirect)
BMC Psychology (Database: PubMed Central / SpringerOpen Open Access)
BMC Public Health (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access / SpringerOpen)
Brain: A Journal of Neurology (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
British Journal of Health Psychology (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
British Journal of Psychiatry (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
British Journal of Psychology (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
British Medical Journal (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Canadian Journal of Psychiatry (Database: SAGE Journals)
Child Development (Database: Academic Search Complete / Education Research Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Clinical Psychological Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Clinical Psychology Review (Database: ScienceDirect)
Cognition and Emotion (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Consciousness and Cognition (Database: ScienceDirect)
Counselling & Psychotherapy Research (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Current Biology (Database: EBSCO Open Access / ScienceDirect)
Current Direction in Psychological Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
Current Opinion in Psychology (Database: ScienceDirect)
Developmental Science (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Emotion (Database: APA PsycArticles)
European Journal of Social Psychology (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Frontiers in Human Neuroscience (Database: EBSCO Open Access / Frontiers Journal Series Open Access)
Frontiers in Psychology (Database: EBSCO Open Access / Frontiers Journal Series Open Access / PubMed Central Open Access)
Health Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Human Factors: The Journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (Database: SAGE Journals)
Infant Behavior and Development (Database: ScienceDirect)
International Review of Psychiatry (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Journal of Abnormal Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Adolescence (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Adolescent Health (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Anxiety Disorders (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Behavior Therapy and Experimental Psychiatry (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry and Allied Disciplines (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Consumer Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Counseling and Development (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate / Education Research Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Journal of Counseling Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Educational Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Experimental Psychology: General (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Experimental Social Psychology (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Family Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Health Psychology (Database: SAGE Journals)
Journal of Memory and Language (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Pediatric Psychology (Database: EBSCO Open Access / Education Research Complete)
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Psychiatric Research (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Research in Personality (Database: ScienceDirect)
Law & Human Behavior (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Memory (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Molecular Psychiatry (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Nature (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) (1997-2015)
Nature Reviews Neuroscience (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection) (2000-2015)
Neuropsychologia (Database: ScienceDirect)
Neuropsychopharmacology (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Neuroscience & Biobehavioral Reviews (Database: ScienceDirect)
Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes (Database: ScienceDirect)
Personality and Individual Differences (Database: ScienceDirect)
Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin (Database: SAGE Journals)
Perspectives on Psychological Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
PLoS Medicine (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access / PLoS)
PLoS One (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access / PLoS)
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Psychiatry Research (Database: ScienceDirect)
Psychological Assessment (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Psychological Bulletin (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Psychological Methods (Database: APA PsycArticles)
The Psychological Record (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate / Education Research Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Psychological Review (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Psychological Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
Psychological Science in the Public Interest (Database: EBSCO Open Access / SAGE Journals)
Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy (Database: APA PsycArticles)
Psychologist (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Psychology & Health (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Psychology & Marketing (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Psychology and Psychotherapy: Theory, Research and Practice (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Psychophysiology (Database: Academic Search Complete / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Qualitative Health Research (Database: SAGE Journals)
Qualitative Research in Psychology (Database: Academic Search Complete)
The Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology (Database: SAGE Journals)
Schizophrenia Bulletin (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Social Psychological and Personality Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
Social Science & Medicine (Database: ScienceDirect)
Teaching of Psychology (Database: SAGE Journals)
Trends in Cognitive Sciences (Database: ScienceDirect)
Work and Stress (Database: Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate / Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection)

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Psychology Video Channels:

Big Think - Big Think is a leading source of expert-driven, actionable, educational content -- with thousands of videos to help you get smarter, faster. Get actionable lessons from the world's greatest thinkers and doers.
BrainCraft - On BrainCraft, Vanessa Hill, a science journalist and video producer, covers self-improvement tips and advice based in psychology and neuroscience.
Derren Brown - Official clips channel for Illusionist Derren Brown, bringing you the best bits from all of his programmes.
BullyingNewsVideos - This channel contains videos about workplace psychological harassment, sexual harassment, coercive tactics, psychological abuse, psychological manipulation, bullying, mobbing, discrimination, stereotypes, suicide factors, cyberbullying and young gay teens suicides, mental health, depression prevention, occupational health and safety, stress management, rage shooting factors, cancer, technology, and related movie scene illustrations.
Center on the Developing Child: Harvard University - The mission of the Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University is to drive science-based innovation that achieves breakthrough outcomes for children facing adversity.
Coolpsychologist - Cool and interesting psychology clips. 
Andy Field - Videos to accompany his 'Discovering Statistics Using...' textbooks.
Graham R Gibbs - Research methods in the social sciences with a particular focus on qualitative research.
HeroicImaginationTV - What started initially as the controversial Stanford Prison Experiment by Dr. Philip Zimbardo in 1971 became a collective social experiment called the Heroic Imagination Project, a nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to training people to act in more heroic ways.
How2stats - How2stats is dedicated to helping people learn about statistics. Some of the videos are more lecture based, while others are relevant to using software for the purposes of conducting statistical analyses.
Judith Johnson - Judith Johnson is a clinical psychologist and lecturer based at the University of Leeds and Bradford Institute for Health Research, and this channel shares videos she has made as part of her research and teaching.
Oliver Sacks Foundation - Oliver Sacks, M.D. was a physician, a best-selling author, and a professor of neurology at the NYU School of Medicine. The New York Times has referred to him as "the poet laureate of medicine." He is best known for his collections of neurological case histories, including The Man who Mistook his Wife for a Hat.
Perceivingacting - A resource for anyone sincerely interested in the psychology of life and animate behaviour - comprising videos on ecological psychology, affordances, dynamical systems, attention, direct perception, Gibson, perception-action, coordination dynamics, driving and locomotion, applied psychology and technology, the new physics, self-organized dynamical systems, complex systems, ecology and, especially...consciousness.
Psychology Unlocked - Psychology Unlocked introduces you to key psychological theories, studies and approaches in bite-sized videos.
Quirkology - Quirky mind stuff from psychologist, author and magician Richard Wiseman.
Professor Ross - This channel is devoted to sharing videos that help illustrate psychological concepts.
The Royal Institution - Videos to make you think more deeply about science. Explosive short films, full length talks from the world's leading scientists and writers, and videos to challenge the way you look at the world.
SciShow - SciShow explores the unexpected, delving into the scientific subjects that defy our expectations that make us even more curious!
Daniel Simons - Here you will find many videos on visual perception, change blindness, inattentional blindness, and visual memory.
Social Science Club - This is a channel dedicated to the social sciences, focusing on two primary topics: psychology and statistics.
Geert Stienissen
TED - The TED Talks channel features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world's leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes (or less).
TED-Ed - TED-Ed's commitment to creating lessons worth sharing in an extension of TED's mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed's growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website.
TED psychology - These TED Talks - from psychologists and journalists, doctors and patients - share the latest research on why we do what we do.
TEDx Talk - TEDx is an international community that organizes TED-style events anywhere and everywhere -- celebrating locally-driven ideas and elevating them to a global stage. TEDx events are produced independently of TED conferences, each event curates speakers on their own, but based on TED's format and rules.
ThinkTank - ThinkTank challenges preconceptions, exposes new facts and discoveries, explores different perspectives, and inspires you to learn more about the world and the people around you.
Udacity - A pioneer in online education.
Wall Street Journal - WSJ Video takes you inside carefully selected stories and events in a visually captivating way so you can dig deeper into the news that matters to you.

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Psychology External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.