Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Human Resource Management Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on human resource management. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Human Resource Management Subject Areas:

300.72 Research Methods
302.35 Organisational Behaviour
330 Economics
330.9417 Economy of Ireland
331 / 331.09417 Employee Relations / Industrial Relations / Industrial Relations in Ireland
344.41501 Health an Safety Law in Ireland / Employment Law in Ireland
346.41707 Irish Business Law / Irish Commercial Law
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics
650.072 Business Research Methods
658 Management
658.3 Human Resource Management
658.3124 Learning and Development
658.3142 Reward Management
658.4012 Strategic Management
658.406 Change Management
658.4092 Leadership
658.8 Marketing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Human Resource Management eBooks:

Armstrong, M. (2012) Armstrong's handbook of human resource management practice. 12th edn. VLeBooks.

Johnson, G., Whittington, R., Scholes, K., Angwin, D. and Regnér, P. (2016) Exploring strategy: Text and cases. 11th edn. VLeBooks.

Armstrong, M. (2012) Armstrong's handbook of reward management practice. 4th edn. VLeBooks. Johnson, G., Whittington, R. and Scholes, K. (2011) Fundamentals of strategy. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.
Armstrong, M. (2012) Armstrong's handbook of strategic human resource management. 5th edn. VLeBooks.

Quigg, A. (ed.) (2015) The handbook of dealing with workplace bullying. VLeBooks.

Atrill, P. and McLaney, E. (2014) Accounting and finance for Non-Specialists. 9th edn. VLeBooks.

Quinlan, C. (2011) Business research methods. VLeBooks.

Cloke, K. and Goldsmith, J. (2011) Resolving conflicts at work. 3rd edn. VLeBooks. Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2015) Management. 13th edn. VLeBooks.

Daft, R. L. (2011) New era of management. 10th edn. VLeBooks.

Saunders, M., Lewis, P. and Thornhill, A. (2015) Research methods for business students. 7th edn. VLeBooks.

Dyson, J. R. (2010) Accounting for non-accounting students. 8th edn. VLeBooks.

Torrington, D., Hall, L., Atkinson, C. and Taylor, S. (2017) Human resource management. 10th edn. VLeBooks.

Hitt, M., Black, S. and Porter, L. (2013) Management. 3rd edn. VLeBooks. Wilkinson, A., Redman, T., and Dundon, T. (2016) Contemporary human resource management. 5th edn. VLeBooks.
Jobber, D., Lancaster, G. and Le Meunier-FitzHugh, K. (2019) Selling and sales management. 11th edn. VLeBooks.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Human Resource Management Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

Industrial Relations News (IRN)
Subject Areas: 
Industrial Relations, Human Resource Management
A-Z Databases (on campus only)
International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

Warc
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Westlaw IE
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Human Resource Management Journals:

Academy of Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
British Journal of Industrial Relations (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
British Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Conflict Resolution Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
European Journal of Industrial Relations (Database: SAGE Journals)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate) *See access information below
Human Relations (Database: SAGE Journals)
Human Resource Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Industrial Relations Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
International Journal of Manpower (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / Emerald Insight)
International Labour Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Irish Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Premium Business Collection)
Irish Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate ProQuest Premium Business Collection)
McKinsey Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate ProQuest Premium Business Collection)
People Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Personnel Review (Database: Emerald Insight)

Harvard Business Review:

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Ultimate. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent url. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be put/linked to Moodle

Click here for 500 Article Titles

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Human Resource Management External Websites:

Business & Finance https://businessandfinance.com/
Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie
Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development https://www.cipd.co.uk/
Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation https://dbei.gov.ie/en/
Economic and Social Research Institute https://www.esri.ie/
European Central Bank https://www.ecb.europa.eu/home/html/index.en.html
Eurostat https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/
Health and Safety Authority https://www.hsa.ie/eng/
HRM Guide http://hrmguide.co.uk/
Independent/Business https://www.independent.ie/business/
International Monetary Fund https://www.imf.org
Irish Business Employers Confederation https://www.ibec.ie
Irish Economy http://www.irisheconomy.ie/
Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission https://www.ihrec.ie/
Irish Times/Business https://www.irishtimes.com/business
London School of Economics and Political Science/Public Lectures and Events http://www.lse.ac.uk/lse-player?category=public+lectures+and+events
Nevin Economic Research Institute https://www.nerinstitute.net/
Social Justice Ireland https://www.socialjustice.ie/
Society for Human Resource Management https://www.shrm.org/
Ted.com/topics https://www.ted.com/topics
Workplace Relations https://www.workplacerelations.ie/

Over the duration of your NCI course, you may be required to find information on a company for your assignments. The following databases provide access to company reports and company profiles for a variety of multinational companies. You can access any database the library subscribes to through the library's A-Z Databases page.

Databases with Company Information
Business Source Ultimate

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Access Company Profiles:

Go to Business Source Ultimate
Select 'More' from the navigation bar
Choose 'Company Profiles' from the drop-down menu
Search for a company name in the search box
ProQuest Business Collection

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing. Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.

Access Company Reports:

Go to ProQuest Business Collection
Select 'Browse' from the navigation bar
Choose 'Company Reports' from the Browse Topics list
Select 'Hoovers Company Records' from the drop-down menu
Search for a company name in the search box
J. P. Morgan Research

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing.

Access Company Reports:

Go to ProQuest Business Collection
Select 'J. P. Morgan Research' from the Included Databases list at the bottom of the page
Search for a company name in the search box


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.