This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on human resource management. You can use it to:
The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.
Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library
Human Resource Management Subject Areas:
|330.9417||Economy of Ireland|
|331 / 331.09417||Employee Relations / Industrial Relations / Industrial Relations in Ireland|
|344.41501||Health an Safety Law in Ireland / Employment Law in Ireland|
|346.41707||Irish Business Law / Irish Commercial Law|
|519.5||Statistics for Business and Economics|
|650.072||Business Research Methods|
|658.3||Human Resource Management|
|658.3124||Learning and Development|
You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.
Recommended Human Resource Management eBooks:
|Armstrong, M. and Taylor, S. (2020) Armstrong's handbook of human resource management practice. 15th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Johnson, G., Whittington, R., Scholes, K., Angwin, D. and Regnér, P. (2016) Exploring strategy: Text and cases. 11th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Armstrong, M. (2021) Armstrong's handbook of learning and development: A guide to the theory and practice of L&D. ProQuest eBook Central.|
|Atrill, P. and McLaney, E. (2014) Accounting and finance for Non-Specialists. 9th edn. VLeBooks.||Mankiw, N. G., Ashwin, A., and Taylor, M. P. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.|
|O'Hagan, J. W. and O'Toole, F. (Eds.) (2017) The economy of Ireland: Policy-making in a global context. 13th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Bratton, J. and Gold, J. (2017) Human resource management: Theory & practice. 6th edn. VLeBooks.||Quinlan, C. (2011) Business research methods. VLeBooks.|
|Carbery, R. and Cross, C. (2019) Human resource management. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Quinlan, C., Babin, B., Carr, J., Griffin, M. and Zikmu, W. (2019) Business research methods. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.|
|Cloke, K. and Goldsmith, J. (2011) Resolving conflicts at work. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.||Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2015) Management. 13th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Daft, R. L. (2011) New era of management. 10th edn. VLeBooks.||Robbins, S. P., Judge, T. A., and Campbell, T. T. (2017) Organizational behaviour. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central. *also available on VLeBooks|
|Dowling, P. J., Engle, A. D., and Festing, M. (2017) International human resource management. 7th edn. VLeBooks.||Salkind, N. J. and Frey, B. B. (2020) Statistics for people who (think they) hate statistics. 7th edn. SAGE Research Methods.|
|Dyson, J. R. (2010) Accounting for non-accounting students. 8th edn. VLeBooks.||Saunders, M., Lewis, P. and Thornhill, A. (2015) Research methods for business students. 7th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Edwards, T. and Rees, C. (eds.) (2017) International human resource management. 3rd edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Taylor, S. (2021) Resourcing and talent management: The theory and practice of recruiting and developing a workforce. 8th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Hitt, M., Black, S. and Porter, L. (2013) Management. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.||Torrington, D., Hall, L., Atkinson, C. and Taylor, S. (2017) Human resource management. 10th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Jobber, D., Lancaster, G. and Le Meunier-FitzHugh, K. (2019) Selling and sales management. 11th edn. VLeBooks.||Wilkinson, A., Redman, T., and Dundon, T. (2016) Contemporary human resource management. 5th edn. VLeBooks.|
In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.
Recommended Human Resource Management Databases:
|Database & Subject Areas||Access Through|
Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship
Registration required for off-campus use
|Industrial Relations News (IRN)
Subject Areas: Industrial Relations, Human Resource Management
|A-Z Databases (on campus only)|
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.
|ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing
|SAGE Research Methods
Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
For off campus access go here
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks
Recommended Human Resource Management Journals:
|Academy of Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|British Journal of Industrial Relations (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|British Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Conflict Resolution Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|European Journal of Industrial Relations (Database: SAGE Journals)|
|Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Human Relations (Database: SAGE Journals)|
|Human Resource Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Industrial Relations Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|International Journal of Human Resource Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|International Journal of Manpower (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / Emerald Insight)|
|International Labour Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Irish Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Premium Business Collection)|
|McKinsey Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Premium Business Collection)|
|People Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Personnel Review (Database: Emerald Insight)|
In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.
Recommended Human Resource Management External Websites:
|Business & Finance||https://businessandfinance.com/|
|Central Statistics Office||https://www.cso.ie|
|Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development||https://www.cipd.co.uk/|
|Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation||https://dbei.gov.ie/en/|
|Economic and Social Research Institute||https://www.esri.ie/|
|European Central Bank||https://www.ecb.europa.eu/home/html/index.en.html|
|Health and Safety Authority||https://www.hsa.ie/eng/|
|International Monetary Fund||https://www.imf.org|
|Irish Business Employers Confederation||https://www.ibec.ie|
|Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission||https://www.ihrec.ie/|
|London School of Economics and Political Science/Public Lectures and Events||http://www.lse.ac.uk/lse-player?category=public+lectures+and+events|
|Nevin Economic Research Institute||https://www.nerinstitute.net/|
|Social Justice Ireland||https://www.socialjustice.ie/|
|Society for Human Resource Management||https://www.shrm.org/|
Over the duration of your NCI course, you may be required to find information on a company for your assignments. The following databases provide access to company reports and company profiles for a variety of multinational companies. You can access any database the library subscribes to through the library's A-Z Databases page.
|Databases with Company Information|
|Business Source Ultimate|
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology
Access Company Profiles:
|ProQuest Business Collection|
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing. Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.
Access Company Reports:
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports
Access Company Information:
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media
Access Company Information:
Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Help Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.
|Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on|
|Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.|