Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Cloud Computing Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on cloud computing. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Cloud Computing Subject Areas:

004.6782 Cloud Computing
005.1 Software Engineering
005.43 Operating Systems/Virtualisation
005.74 Database Systems
006.3 / 006.312 Data Mining
658.4038 Business Information Systems /  Management Information Systems
808.0666 Research in Computing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Cloud Computing eBooks:

Bloomberg, J. (2013) The agile architecture revolution: How cloud computing, REST-based SOA, and mobile computing are changing enterprise IT. O'Reilly.

Marinescu, D. C. (2018) Cloud computing: Theory and practice. 2nd edn. Science Direct.

Buyya, R., Vecchiola, S., and Selvi, S. (2013) Mastering cloud computing: Foundations and applications programming. VLeBooks.

*Note: To access Marinescu go to A-Z of databases on the library website, open Science Direct, and search for Marinescu. You will be able to download a pdf of each chapter.

Carstensen, J., Golden, B., and Morgenthal, J. P. (2012) Cloud computing: Assessing the risks. O'Reilly.

 

Rosado, D. F., Mellado, D., Fernandez-Medina, E., and Piattini, M. (2012) Security engineering for cloud computing. VLeBooks.

Daigneau, R. (2011) Fundamental design solutions for SOAP.WSDL and RESTful web services. O'Reilly.

Weinman, J. (2012) Cloudonomics: The business value of cloud computing. O'Reilly.

EMC Education Services (2012) Information storage and management: Storing, managing, and protecting digital information in classic, virtualised, and cloud environments. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

White, T. (2015) Hadoop: The definitive guide. 4th edn. O'Reilly.

Hwang, K., Fox, G. C., and Dongarra, J. J. (2013) Distributed and cloud computing: From parallel processing to the internet of things. O'Reilly.

Yeluri, R. and Castro-Leon, E. (2014) Building the infrastructure for cloud security: A solutions view. O'Reilly.

Kusnetzky, D. (2011) Virtualization: A manager's guide. O'Reilly.

Zobel, J. (2014) Writing for computer science. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Cloud Computing Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Cloud Computing Journals:

Computer Fraud & Security (Database: ScienceDirect)
Computers & Security  (Database: ScienceDirect)
Future Generation Computer Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)
IEEE Transactions on Parallel & Distributed Systems  (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Journal of Cloud Computing (Open Access: SpringerOpen)
Journal of Computer & System Sciences (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Computer Security (Database: Business Source Ultimate / Academic Search Complete)
Journal of Information Security & Applications (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Parallel & Distributed Computing (Database: ScienceDirect)
Service-Oriented Computing & Applications (SOCA) (Database: IEEE Xplore)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Cloud Computing External Websites:

Cloud Security Alliance https://cloudsecurityalliance.org/
IBM Redbooks http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/
Microsoft Developer Network https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us
National Institute of Standards and Technology https://csrc.nist.gov/
Precisionstory http://precisionstory.com/users/app-online/app-screen.php


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.