LibGuides: Education, Learning and Teaching Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on education. You can use it to:

locate books, ebooks and journal articles
search relevant databases
connect to useful websites
reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

Lifespan Development by Denise Boyd; Helen Bee
2015, 7th edition. Shelfmark: 155
Early Childhood Education and Care: An Introduction for Students in Ireland by Máire Mhic Mhathúna; Mark Taylor
2012. Shelfmark: 372.21
Doing Your Research Project by Judith Bell
2010, 5th edition. Shelfmark: 300.72

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Education, Learning & Teaching Subject Areas:

153.15	Memory and Learning
155	Lifespan Development
155.2	Individual Psychology
301	Sociology
302.2	Communication (Social Interaction)
309.1415	Sociology (Ireland)
320	Political Science
370.1	Education (Theory and Philosophy)
370.711	Education (Practice and Teaching)
370.1523	Education (Learning)
371.102	Teachers and Teaching
371.3	Study / Instruction Methods
372.21	Early Childhood Education
374	Adult Education

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Education, Learning, and Teaching eBooks:

	Barrett, T. and Moore, S. (eds.) (2010). New approaches to problem-based learning: Revitalising your practice in higher education. VLeBooks.		Harris, K. R., Graham, S., Urdan, T., Graham, S., Royer, J. M. and Zeidner, M. (eds.) (2012) APA educational psychology handbook, vol. 2: Individual differences and cultural and contextual factors. APA PsycBooks.
	Dewey, J. (2004). Democracy and education. VLeBooks.		Illeris, K. (2007). How we learn: Learning and non-learning in school and beyond. VLeBooks.
	Forsyth, D. R. (2016). College teaching: Practical insights from the science of teaching and learning (2nd edn.). APA PsycBooks.*		NCCA (2009) Aistear: The early childhood curriculum framework. Open Access.
	Griffin, J. A. , McArdle, P. and Feund, L. S. (eds) (2015). Executive function in preschool-age children: Integrating measurement, neurodevelopment, and translational research. APA PsycBooks.		Savin-Baden, M. and Howell Major, C. (2004). Foundations of problem-based learning. VLeBooks.
	Harris, K. R., Graham, S., Urdan, T., Bus, A. G., Major, S. and Swanson, H. L. (eds.) (2012) APA educational psychology handbook, vol. 3: Application to learning and teaching. APA PsycBooks.		Schaefer, C. E. (ed.) (2010). Play therapy for preschool children. APA PsycBooks.
	Harris, K. R., Graham, S., Urdan, T., McCormick, C. B., Sinatra, G. M. and Sweller, J. (eds.) (2012) APA educational psychology handbook, vol. 1: Theories, constructs and critical issues. APA PsycBooks.		Schwartz, B. M. and Gurrung, R. A. R. (eds) (2012) Evidence-based teaching for higher education. APA PsycBooks.

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Education, Learning & Teaching Databases:

Database & Subject Areas		Access Through
Academic Search Complete Subject Areas: Multi-disciplinary database including Education		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
APA PsycArticles Subject Areas: Psychology		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Business Source Ultimate Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Education Source Subject Areas: Education		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Emerald Insight Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
ERIC Subject Areas: Education		Discovery A-Z Database User Guide
International Newsstream Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Journals Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Research Methods Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list. Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings		A-Z Databases User Guide
Scopus Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Education, Learning & Teaching Journals:

Active Learning in Higher Education (Database: SAGE Journals)

Adult Learner (Database: Education Research Complete)

An Leanbh Óg: The OMEP Ireland Journal of Early Childhood Studies
(Open Access: https://omepireland.ie/an-leanbh-og-journals/)

British Educational Research Journal (Database: Education Source / Academic Search Complete)

Canadian Journal of Learning & Technology (Database: Education Source)

Early Childhood Education Journal (Database: Education Source / Academic Search Complete)

European Early Childhood Education Research Journal (Database: Education Source)

Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

International Journal of Learning: Annual Review (Database: Education Source)

International Review of Research in Open & Distance Learning (Database: Education Source)

Irish Educational Studies (Database: Education Source)

Journal of Adult & Continuing Education (Database: SAGE Journals)

Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks (Database: Education Source)

Journal of Educational Research (Database: Education Research Complete / Academic Search Complete)

Journal of Teaching & Learning
(Open Access: https://ojs.uwindsor.ca/index.php/JTL/index)

Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (Database: Education Source)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Education, Learning & Teaching External Websites:

Aontas - The National Adult Learning Organisation	https://www.aontas.com/
Citizens Information	https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/
The Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth	https://www.gov.ie/en/organisation/department-of-children-equality-disability-integration-and-youth/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/en/organisation/department-of-children-and-youth-affairs/
Department of Education and Skills	https://www.education.ie/
Economic and Social Research Institute	https://www.esri.ie/
Education and Training Boards Ireland	http://www.etbi.ie/
Language and Learning Online, Monash University	http://www.monash.edu.au/lls/llonline/
National Adult Literacy Agency	https://www.nala.ie/
National Council for Curriculum and Assessment	https://www.ncca.ie/
New Media Consortium	http://www.nmc.org/
Online Learning Consortium	https://onlinelearningconsortium.org/
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)	http://www.oecd.org/education/bycountry/ireland/
Psychological Society of Ireland	https://www.psychologicalsociety.ie/
Purdue Online Writing Lab	https://owl.english.purdue.edu/
Quality and Qualifications Ireland	https://www.qqi.ie/
Síolta, the National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education	http://siolta.ie/
SOLAS, Further Education and Training Authority	http://www.solas.ie/
Teaching Council	https://www.teachingcouncil.ie/en/
TED	https://www.ted.com/
Using English for Academic Purposes	http://www.uefap.com/

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.


Keith Brittle	Shannon Mallon

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on

Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.