LibGuides: Technology Management Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on technology management. You can use it to:

locate books, eBooks and journal articles
search relevant databases
connect to useful websites
reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

Management Information Systems by Jane P. Laudon; Kenneth C. Laudon
2018, 15th edition. Shelfmark: 658.4038
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by Neil J. Salkind; Bruce B. Frey
2020, 7th edition. Shelfmark: 519.5
Operations Management by Slack, N.; Brandon-Jones, A.
2019, 9th edition. Shelfmark: 658.5

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books.

Technology Management Subject Areas:

004.0151	Computer Mathematics
005.1	Software Engineering / Programming
005.74	Database Systems
006.3 / 006.312	Data Mining
006.76	Programming - Internet & the Web
378.170281	Study Skills
519.5	Statistics for Business & Economics / Data Analysis
658	Management
658.4012	Strategic Management
658.4038	Business Information Systems / Management Information Systems
658.404	Project Management
658.5	Operations Management

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Technology Management eBooks:

	Backhouse, R. C. (2011) Algorithmic problem solving. O'Reilly.		McClave, J. and Sincich, T. (2017) Statistics. 13th edn. VLeBooks.
	Daft, R. L. and Benson, A. (2016) Management. VLeBooks.		Project Management Institute (2017) A guide to the project management body of knowledge. 6th edn. O'Reilly.
	Deitel, P. J. and Deitel, H. M. (2006) C how to program. 5th edn. O'Reilly.		Project Management Institute (2021) A guide to the project management body of knowledge. 7th edn. O'Reilly.
	Eckerson, W. (2010) Performance dashboards: Measuring, monitoring, and managing your business. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.		Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. K. (2015) Management. 13th edn. VLeBooks.
	Field, A. P. (2018) Discovering statistics using IBM SPSS statistics. 5th edn. SAGE edge (Open Access).		Rumsey, D. J. (2011) Statistics for dummies. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.
	Griffin, R. W. (2017) Management. 12th edn. VLeBooks.		Salkind, N. J. and Frey, B. B. (2020) Statistics for people who (think they) hate statistics. 7th edn. Open Access.
	Inmon, W. H. (2005) Building the data warehouse. 4th edn. O'Reilly.		Siegel, E. (2016) Predictive analytics: The power to predict who will click, buy, like, or die. O'Reilly.
	Kimball, R. and Ross, M. (2013) The data warehouse toolkit: The definitive guide to dimensional modeling. 3rd edn. O'Reilly.		Slack, N. and Brandon-Jones, A. (2019) Operations management. 9th edn. VLeBooks.
	Krajewski, L. J., Malhotra, M. K. and Ritzman, L. P. (2019) Operations management: Processes and supply chains. 12th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.		Smith, J. and Smith C. (2018) Adobe Creative Cloud: All-in-one. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.
	Laudon, K. C. and Laudon, J. P. (2018) Management information systems: Managing the digital firm. 15th edn. VLeBooks.		Sprankle, M. and Hubbard, J. (2014) Problem solving and programming concepts. VLeBooks.

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Technology Management Databases:

Database & Subject Areas		Access Through
Academic Search Complete Subject Areas: Science & Technology		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
ACM Digital Library Subject Areas: Computing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Business Source Ultimate Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Emerald Insight Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Managment Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
IEEE Xplore Subject Areas: Computing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science Subject Areas: Computing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Journals Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Research Methods Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list. Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings		A-Z Databases User Guide
ScienceDirect Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books. Subject Areas: Computing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Scopus Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Technology Management Journals:

ACM Computing Surveys (Database: ACM Digital Library)

ACM SIGMOD Record (Database: ACM Digital Library)

ACM Transactions on Management Information Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)

Communications of the ACM (Database: ACM Digital Library)

Computer (Database: IEEE Xplore)

Computerworld (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Decision Support Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)

European Journal of Information Systems (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection *up to 2017)

Expert Systems with Applications (Database: ScienceDirect)

Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Information & Management (Database: ScienceDirect)

Information & Software Technology (Database: ScienceDirect)

Information Processing & Management (Database: ScienceDirect)

Information Sciences (Database: ScienceDirect)

Information Systems Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Information Systems Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Long Range Planning (Database: ScienceDirect)

Omega (Database: ScienceDirect)

PM Network (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Proceedings of the VLDB Endowment (Database: ACM Digital Library)

Project Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Research Journals)

Wired (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Technology Management External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

Apache Friends	https://www.apachefriends.org/index.html
BBC News	https://www.bbc.com/news
BFI Industry Data and Insights	http://www.bfi.org.uk/education-research/film-industry-statistics-research
Canva	https://www.canva.com/
Centers of Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics	https://www.cdc.gov/datastatistics/
Central Statistics Office	https://www.cso.ie/en/index.html
CERN Open Data	http://opendata.cern.ch/
Data.gov	https://www.data.gov/
Data.gov.uk	https://data.gov.uk/
Datahub	http://datahub.io/
Department of Peace and Conflict Research Data	http://www.pcr.uu.se/research/UCDP/
Dummies	https://www.dummies.com/
Durofy	https://durofy.com/
Equilar	https://www.equilar.com/
EU Open Data Portal	http://data.europa.eu/euodp/en/data/
European Union	https://europa.eu/european-union/index_en
Extreme Presentation Method	https://extremepresentation.com/
Federal Reserve Economic Data	https://fred.stlouisfed.org/
FusionCharts	https://www.fusioncharts.com/

GatherContent Help Centre	https://help.gathercontent.com/
Burth Gerstman	https://www.sjsu.edu/faculty/gerstman/
Google: Public Data	https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory
Government of Canada: Open Data	https://open.canada.ca/en/open-data
Andrew Griffiths Blog	http://www.andrewgriffithsblog.com/
Human Rights Data Analysis Group	https://hrdag.org/
IMF Data	https://www.imf.org/en/Data
Intellecutal Property of Ireland	https://www.ipoi.gov.ie/
Ireland's Open Data Portal	https://data.gov.ie/
Irish Times	https://www.irishtimes.com/
James Jones, Professor of Mathematics	https://people.richland.edu/james/
Kaggle	https://www.kaggle.com/
Khan Academy	https://www.khanacademy.org/
Linked Open Data: University of Münster	https://www.uni-muenster.de/LODUM/
Maths Is Fun	https://mathsisfun.com/
Moz	https://moz.com/
MySQL: Developer Zone	https://dev.mysql.com/
National Centers for Environmental Information: Data Access	https://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/data-access/quick-links#loc-clim
National College of Ireland: Linkedin	https://www.linkedin.com/school/national-college-of-ireland/
NCI Careers: Instagram	https://www.instagram.com/ncicareers/
NCI Careers & Opportunities: Facebook	https://www.facebook.com/ncicareersandopportunities
NCI Careers: Twitter	https://twitter.com/NCI_Careers
Nevon Projects	https://nevonprojects.com/
NHS: Data and Information	https://digital.nhs.uk/data-and-information

Open Data Monitor	https://opendatamonitor.eu/
Open Data Network	https://www.opendatanetwork.com/
Open Government Data (OGD) Platform India	https://data.gov.in/
Oracle: Java	https://www.oracle.com/java/technologies/
Plenario	http://plenar.io/
Profiling for Success	https://www.profilingforsuccess.com/
Python	https://www.python.org/
Random.org	https://www.random.org/
Registry of Open Data on AWS	https://registry.opendata.aws/
Road Safety Authority Statistics	https://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Road-Safety/RSA-Statistics/
R Project	https://www.r-project.org/
SQLCourse	http://www.sqlcourse.com/
Tableau	https://www.tableau.com/
Towards Data Science	https://towardsdatascience.com/
Tutorialspoint	https://www.tutorialspoint.com/index.htm
UCI Machine Learning Repository	https://archive.ics.uci.edu/ml/index.php
UNICEF Data	https://data.unicef.org/
United States Census Bureau: Data	https://www.census.gov/data.html
University of Edinburgh School of Infomatics: Datasets for Data Mining	http://www.inf.ed.ac.uk/teaching/courses/dme/html/datasets0405.html
U.S. Food & Drug Administration: Data Files	https://www.fda.gov/Drugs/InformationOnDrugs/ucm079750.htm
World Bank Open Data	https://data.worldbank.org/
World Health Organization Data	http://www.who.int/gho/en/
W3Schools	https://www.w3schools.com/

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Technology Management Video Channels:

Adobe Photoshop - Adobe Photoshop software is the industry standard in digital imaging and is used worldwide for design, photography, video editing and more.

Justin Brown - Primal Video - All about helping businesses and brands with video; includes video creation, video editing tutorials, gear reviews, video production tips and tricks as well as video marketing tips, tactics and strategies and YouTube ranking tutorials.

Capgemini - A global leader in partnering with companies to transform and manage their business by harnessing the power of technology.

Sam Cogan - NCI lecturer: This channel allows you to learn HTML and web design from scratch in small bitesize chunks.

Jack Cole - Includes content about video editing, videography and how to make money making videos.

D4Darious - Shares tips on filmmaking, screenwriting and directing.

Mr. Ford's Class - Includes content on general IT skills, Microsoft Office products, and CompTIA certification.

Global Knowledge - A worldwide leader in IT training and professional skills development providing training in AWS, Cisco, Citrix, IBM, Microsoft, Red Hat, WMware, and in topics such as cloud computing, cybersecurity, ITIL, project management and more.

Google Students - Google videos on products, job opportunities, educational materials, and other resources and programs for students and faculty in the academic community.

HeroicImaginationTV - What started initially as the controversial Stanford Prison Experiment by Dr. Philip Zimbardo in 1971 became a collective social experiment called the Heroic Imagination Project, a nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to training people to act in more heroic ways.

Maths and Stats - Channel by NCI lecturer Jonathan Lambert providing lots of introductory videos on performing fundamental statistical calculations.

Peter McKinnon - Channel about photography and cinematography.

Eugene O'Loughlin - Channel from former NCI lecturer featuring three types of videos: 1: How To... 2: Problem-solving 3: Statistics.

Andrew Pach - PowerPoint and Video - Tutorials on Microsoft PowerPoint, Adobe After Effects and video editing.

Dusty Porter - Channel dedicated to making your technology life easier focused on provided education videos about software, hardware, and anything related to YouTube.

RMC Learning Solutions - Provides project management, agile, and business analysis training focusing on real-world skills and practical techniques.

Aidin Robbins - Filmmaker

TED - The TED Talks channel features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world's leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes (or less).

TED-Ed - TED-Ed's commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED's mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed's growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed website.

Toonboxstudio - Content includes education step-by-step video training on drawing and digital painting.

VideoRevealed - Channel dedicated to helping people achieve professional looking videos through easy to follow tutorials for Adobe applications like Premiere Pro, After Effects, Audition, and more.

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.


Keith Brittle	Shannon Mallon	Isobel Dunne