Skip to main content
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Marketing Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on marketing. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Marketing Subject Areas:

001.42 / 300.72 Research Methods
004.019 Computer-Human Interaction
006.7 Multimedia Systems
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics / Data Analysis
650.072 Business Research Methods
658.404 Project Management
658.8 Marketing / Marketing Management / Service Marketing
658.802 Marketing Strategy / Strategic Marketing Management / Services Marekting
658.827 Brand Management
658.83 Market Research / Measuring Marketing
658.8342 Consumer Behaviour
658.872 Digital Marketing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Marketing eBooks:

Atrill, P. and McLaney, E. (2014) Accounting and finance for non-specialists. 9th edn. Dawsonera.

Palmatier, R. (2014) Marketing channel strategy. 8th edn. Dawsonera.

Brown, D. M. (2011). Communicating design: Developing web site documentation for design and planning. 2nd edn. O'Reilly. Project Management Institute (2017) A guide to the project management body of knowledge. 6th edn. O'Reilly.
Jobber, D. and Lancaster, G. (2015) Selling and sales management. 10th edn. Dawsonera.

Quinlan, C. (2011) Business research methods. Dawsonera.

McDonald, M., Mouncey, P. and Maklan, S. (2014) Marketing value metrics. 2nd edn. Dawsonera.

Saunders, M., Lewis, P. and Thornhill, A. (2015) Research methods for business students. 7th edn. Dawsonera.

McGivern, Y. (2013) The practice of market reserach: An introduction. 4th edn. Dawsonera. Solomon, M. R., Bamossy, G. J., Askegaard, S. and Hogg, M. K. (2016) Consumer behaviour: A European perspective. 6th edn. Dawsonera.

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or the following databases:

DawsonEra Books by DawsonEra

User Guide

EBSCO eBook Business Collection by EBSCO

User Guide

O'Reilly Learning by O'Reilly

User Guide

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Marketing Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Includes over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista
Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

Warc
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Westlaw IE
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Marketing Journals:

Academy of Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
California Management Review (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Creativity & Innovation Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate) *see access information below
International Journal of Market Research (Database: SAGE Journals / Business Source Ultimate/ ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Consumer Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Marketing Research (Database: SAGE Journals / Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Public Policy & Marketing (Database: SAGE Journals / Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Personal Selling & Sales Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)

Harvard Business Review:

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Ultimate. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent url. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic coursepacks, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be put/linked to Moodle

Click here for 500 Article Titles

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Marketing External Websites:

AdvertisingAge https://adage.com/
The Advertising Show http://www.theadvertisingshow.com/
Amárach Research http://www.amarach.com/
American Marketing Association https://www.ama.org/
Campaign https://www.campaignlive.co.uk/
Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie
Digital Planet http://digital-pla.net/
eMarketer https://www.emarketer.com/
Enterprise Ireland https://www.enterprise-ireland.com/en/
European Central Bank https://www.ecb.europa.eu/home/html/index.en.html
Mashable https://mashable.com/
Media Live http://www.medialive.ie/
Nielsen Ireland https://www.nielsen.com/ie
Smart Insights https://www.smartinsights.com/
Social Media Examiner https://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/
Social Media Today https://www.socialmediatoday.com/
TechRepublic https://www.techrepublic.com/

Over the duration of your NCI course, you may be required to find information on a company for your assignments. The following databases provide access to company reports and company profiles for a variety of multinational companies. You can access any database the library subscribes to through the library's A-Z Databases page.

Databases with Company Information
Business Source Ultimate

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Access Company Profiles:

Go to Business Source Ultimate
Select 'More' from the navigation bar
Choose 'Company Profiles' from the drop-down menu
Search for a company name in the search box
ProQuest Business Collection

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing. Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.

Access Company Reports:

Go to ProQuest Business Collection
Select 'Browse' from the navigation bar
Choose 'Company Reports' from the Browse Topics list
Select 'Hoovers Company Records' from the drop-down menu
Search for a company name in the search box

Notice:

Owing to the current isolation restrictions, we cannot currently offer face to face appointments, but please be aware we are still fully operational in terms of offering remote assistance for your assignments and research. If we can be of any help whatsoever, please do not hesitate to email us.

Keith
Brittle

Cory
Newbigging

 


For Quick Queries:


Visit our page:

https://libguides.ncirl.ie/libraryhelpcentre

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.