Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on fintech and financial services analytics. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Subject Areas:

004.6782 Cloud Computing
005.74 Database Systems
005.756 SQL
005.8 Data Security
006.3 / 006.312 Data Mining
300.72 Research Methods
330 Economics
332 Financial Economics
332.042 International Finance
332.1 Banking / Banks
332.6 Investments
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics / Data Analysis
808.066 / 808.0666 Writing Dissertations

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics eBooks:

undefined

Andress, J. (2014) The basics of information security: Understanding the fundamentals of InfoSec in theory and practice. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Also available on VLeBooks.

undefined

Lantz, B. (2015) Machine learning with R. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

undefined Antonopoulos, A. M. (2017) Mastering Bitcoin: Programming the open blockchain. 2nd edn. O'Reilly. undefined

Maurya, A. (2012) Running lean. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Also available on VLeBooks.

Carstensen, J., Golden, B., and Morgenthal, J. P. (2012) Cloud computing: Assessing the risks. O'Reilly.

Also available on VLeBooks.

undefined Narang, R. K. (2013) Inside the black box: A simple guide to quantitative and high-frequency trading. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.
undefined Chishti, S. and Barberis, J. (2016) The fintech book. VLeBooks. undefined Raval, S. (2016) Decentralized applications: Harnessing Bitcoin's blockchain technology. O'Reilly.
DeFusco, R. A., McLeavy, D. W., Pinto, J. E., and Runkle, D. (2007) Quantitative investment analysis. 2nd edn. VLeBooks. undefined Schou, C. and Hernandez, S. (2015) Information assurance handbook: Effective computer security and risk management strategies. O'Reilly.
undefined Downey, A. B. (2014) Think stats. 2nd edn. O'Reilly. undefined Swan, M. (2015) Blockchain: Blueprint for a new economy. O'Reilly.
undefined Hofmann, M. and Klinkenberg, R. (eds.) (2015) RapidMiner: Data mining use cases and business analytics applications. O'Reilly. Witten, I. H., Frank, E., Hall, M. A., and Pal, C. J. (2017) Data mining: Practical machine learning tools and techniques. 4th edn. O'Reilly.
undefined Hyndman, R. J. and Athanasopoulos, G. (2018) Forecasting: Principles and practice. 2nd edn. Otexts. Zobel, J. (2014) Writing for computer science. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through
ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas:
Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Better Regulation
Subject Areas: Accounting, Finance, Company, Pensions, Tax Law

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: 
Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: 
Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Areas: Finance, Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Journals:

Big Data & Society (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / EBSCO Open Access)
Communications of the ACM (Database: ACM Digital Library / Business Source Ultimate)
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Decision Support Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)
Finance & Development (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / EBSCO Open Access)
IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Services Computing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Economic Perspectives (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Intelligent Information Systems (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Machine Learning Research (Database: ACM Digital Library / EBSCO Open Access)
Journal of Statistical Software (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Northwestern Journal of International Law & Business (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / Business Source Ultimate)
PLoS One (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access)
Procedia Economics and Finance (Database: ScienceDirect)
Review of Financial Studies (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Technology Innovation Management Review (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Time Magazine (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Wall Street Journal (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)

undefined

You can access conferences by going to the appropriate database link and searching for the conference title within that database.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Conferences:

Advances in Data Mining. Applications and Theoretical Aspects (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems Conference (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Advances in Science, Technology, and Engineering Systems Journal (ASTESJ) (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
CHI: Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Electronic Government: International Conference (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
Euromicro International Conference on Parallel, Distributed and Network-based Processing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
European Conference on Machine Learning and Knowledge Discovery (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGRID) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE International Congress on Big Data (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Financial Cryptography and Data Security (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
International Conference on HCI in Business, Government, and Organizations (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
International Conference on Semantic Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)
International Conference on Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance (Database: ACM Digital Library)
International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Workshop on Open Problems in Network Security (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)

undefined

Below is a list of recommended websites where datasets can be accessed.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Datasets:

Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie/en/index.html
Data.europa.eu https://data.europa.eu/
Data.gov.uk https://data.gov.uk/
DataHub http://datahub.io/search
Dublinked https://data.smartdublin.ie/
EU Open Data Portal https://data.europa.eu/euodp/en/data/
Google Dataset Search https://datasetsearch.research.google.com/
Google Finance https://www.google.com/finance
Google Public Data https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory
Google Trends https://trends.google.com/trends/explore
Irish Government Open Data Portal https://data.gov.ie/
Kaggle https://www.kaggle.com
Daniel Lemire's Blog https://lemire.me/blog/2012/03/27/publicly-available-large-data-sets-for-database-research/
Moody's Analytics Economic Indicators https://www.economy.com/indicators/
OECD.Stat http://stats.oecd.org/
Pew Research Center Datasets http://www.pewresearch.org/download-datasets/
Quandl https://www.quandl.com/
RData Mining http://www.rdatamining.com/resources/data
Registry of Open Data on AWS https://registry.opendata.aws/
RunMyCode http://www.runmycode.org/
Statista Access through A-Z Databases
UCI Machine Learning Repository http://archive.ics.uci.edu/ml/index.php
UN Data https://data.un.org/
US Government Open Data Initiative https://www.data.gov/
World Bank Open Data https://data.worldbank.org/
Yahoo WebScope Datasets https://webscope.sandbox.yahoo.com/
Zenodo https://zenodo.org/

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended FinTech and Financial Services Analytics Video Channels:

Aantonop Educational videos from Andreas M. Antonopoulos, best-selling author, speaker, educator, and highly sought after expert in bitcoin and open blockchain technologies.
Atos Syntel Leading provider of automation-powered IT and business services that evolve core enterprise business and technology operations for the digital age.
Augmented Startups Tutorials in artificial intelligence, augmented reality, IoT, and computer vision.
Ralf Becker Senior lecturer in econometrics at the University of Manchester, UK.
Bionic Turtle Resource and global community, specializing in professional certification: FRM, CFA, ERP, CAIA, Risk School.
Chicago Booth Review Research-driven insights on business, policy, and markets.
Codible Mainly focused on Microsoft Excel - basic proficiency in Excel, financial analysis using Excel, business analytics using Excel.
Credit Suisse A selection of the bank's most important videos. The material ranges from expert advice, analysis, and interviews to coverage of their commitments in the areas of society, culture, and sports.
Curiousinventor Bitcoin series.
DataCamp DataCamp helps companies answer their most challenging questions by making better use of data; users acquire and maintain data fluency and students can learn continuously from the world's top data scientists.
Enthought Enthought builds AI solutions with science and engineering at the core, accelerating digital transformation by enabling companies and their people to leverage the benefits of artificial intelligence and machine learning.
EPC Group.net Touted as the top Office 365, SharePoint & Power BI firm in North America by several leading analysts.
Financial Times
How To R Founded as a resource for students learning about R, How To R is here to make the learning curve less steep, and show you how to do what you need to in R.
Khan Academy Videos help students succeed in maths, economics, finance, and many other topics.
Mathantics Maths videos
MIT OpenCourseWare
Eugene O'Loughlin How to, problem-solving, and statistics.
Paris Fintech Forum Videos from Paris Fintech Forum 2016-2020
Roger Peng Professor of Biostatistics at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
Udacity Students learn programming and data science through a series of online courses and hands-on projects.
Lim Jet Wee Programme manager in informatics.


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.