Skip to main content
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Finance and Financial Services Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on finance and financial services. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Finance and Financial Services Subject Areas:

174.4 Business Ethics
330 Economics
331.252 Pensions
332.6 Investments
336.2 Taxation
338.5 Business Economics / Microeconomics
339 / 339.094 Macroeconomics
519.5 Statistics for Business & Economics / Data Analysis
650.072 Business Research Methods
657 Business Accounting / Financial Accounting
657.3 Financial Statement Analysis
658 Management
658.15 / 658.1511 Corporate Finance /  Financial Management /  Management Accounting
658.8 Marketing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Finance and Financial Services eBooks:

Atrill, P. and McLaney, E. (2015) Accounting and finance for non-specialists. 9th edn. Dawsonera.

Mankiew, N. G. and Taylor, M. P. (2017) Economics. 4th edn. Dawsonera.

Dyson, J. R. (2010) Accounting for non-accounting students. 8th edn. Dawsonera. Mankiw, N. G., Taylor, M. P., and Ashwin, A. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. Dawsonera.
undefined Harvey, G. (2019) Excel 2019 all-in-one for dummies. O'Reilly. Melville, A. (2014) International financial reporting: A practical guide. 4th edn. Dawsonera.
undefined Hull, J. C. (2018) Options, futures, and other derivatives. 9th edn. Dawsonera. Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2016) Management. 13th edn. Dawsonera.
undefined Hull, J. C. (2015) Risk management and financial institutions. 4th edn. O'Reilly. Saunders, M., Lewis, P., and Thornhill, A. (2016) Research methods for business students. 7th edn. Dawsonera.
undefined Kahn, M. N. (2010) Technical analysis plain and simple: Charting the markets in your language. 3rd edn. O'Reilly. Watson, D. and Head, A. (2019) Corporate finance: Principles and practice. 8th edn. Dawsonera.
undefined Laudon, K. C. and Laudon, J. P. (2018) Management information systems: Managing the digital firm. 15th edn. Dawsonera.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or the following databases:

DawsonEra Books by DawsonEra

User Guide

EBSCO eBook Business Collection by EBSCO

User Guide

O'Reilly Learning by O'Reilly

User Guide

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Finance and Financial Services Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through
Academic Search Complete
Subject Areas: 
Multidisciplinary database including Finance

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Better Regulation
Subject Areas: Accounting, Finance, Company, Pensions, Tax Law

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Includes over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Subject Areas:
Finance, Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

Warc
Subject Areas: 
Communications, Marketing, Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Finance and Financial Services Journals and Magazines:

The Accounting Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Admap Magazine (Database: Warc)
Annals of Public & Cooperative Economics (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Australian Journal of Public Administration (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Critical Perspectives on Accounting (Database: ScienceDirect)
The Economist (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Finance & Development (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Fortune (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate) *see access information below
Journal of Advertising Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Applied Corporate Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Applied Quantitative Methods (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Journal of Banking & Finance (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Economics and Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate) 
Journal of Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Financial Counseling & Planning (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Financial Economics (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Financial Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of International Business Studies (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Portfolio Management (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Marketing Intelligence & Planning (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / Emerald Insight)
McKinsey Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Measuring Business Excellence (Database: Emerald Insight)
OECD Journal: Financial Market Trends (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Review of Financial Studies (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Technology Innovation Management Review (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Time Magazine (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
The Wall Street Journal (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)

Harvard Business Review:

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Ultimate. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent url. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be put/linked to Moodle

Click here for 500 Article Titles

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Finance and Financial Services External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) https://www.accaglobal.com/
Banking & Payments Federation Ireland https://www.bpfi.ie/
Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/europe
Business & Finance https://businessandfinance.com/
Business Post https://www.businesspost.ie/
Central Bank of Ireland https://www.centralbank.ie/
Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie/en/
Chartered Accountants Ireland https://www.charteredaccountants.ie
Chartered Institute of Management Accountants Ireland https://www.cimaglobal.com/Our-locations/Ireland/
Competition & Consumer Protection Commission https://www.ccpc.ie/
Corecon https://www.core-econ.org/
Economic & Social Research Institute https://www.esri.ie/
Economics, Psychology, Policy http://economicspsychologypolicy.blogspot.com/
eMarketer https://www.emarketer.com/
European Central Bank https://www.ecb.europa.eu
European Commission https://ec.europa.eu/commission/index_en
Forbes https://www.forbes.com
Government of Ireland / Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation https://dbei.gov.ie/en/
Government of Ireland / Department of Finance https://www.gov.ie/en/organisation/department-of-finance/
Government of Ireland / Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government https://www.housing.gov.ie/housing/housing
Greg Mankiw's Blog http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/
Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/international
Paul Krugman / New York Times Blog https://krugman.blogs.nytimes.com/
Pensions Authority https://www.pensionsauthority.ie/
Reuters https://www.reuters.com/
Revenue https://revenue.ie
RTE News https://www.rte.ie/news/
Seeking Alpha https://seekingalpha.com/
Sloman Economics News Site https://pearsonblog.campaignserver.co.uk/
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission https://www.sec.gov/
World Bank http://www.worldbank.org/
Yahoo! Finance https://finance.yahoo.com/

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Finance and Financial Services Video Channels:

aCOWtancy ACCA, CIMA and CAT online learning system.
CFA Course Preparation for the CFA® exam, from quantitative methods to derivatives and alternative investments.
ChattState Math
Codible Mainly focused on Microsoft Excel - basic proficiency in Excel, financial analysis using Excel, business analytics using Excel.
Cultnomics
DeatonMath
Doughnut Economics
Edspira Business education channel.
Entrepreneur Advice Learn from some of the greatest minds in both business and self-development.
Dave Gagne Market trader and investor.
Paddy Hirsch From economics to financial markets and other topics.
David Johnk How to solve various problems in Excel.
Khan Academy Videos to help students succeed in maths, economics, finance, and many other topics.
Jaime Lancaster Learn how to use Excel to analyse financial data.
LSBFGlobalMBA MBA platform which includes corporate finance videos.
Marginal Revolution University These videos explore everything from fundamental economic concepts to life's big questions. You can learn the basics of supply and demand, which career is right for you, the ins-and-outs of economic growth, or how to invest like an economist.
Mathsispower4U This channel provides maths tutorials from basic arithmetic through calculus III and more.
Mjmfoodie Covers the main principles of economics.
MoneyWorks4Me India's 1st Technology-assisted Multi-asset Fiduciary Portfolio Advisory whose mission is to make wealth-creation through investing safe and simple for retail investors.
Nabifroese Online maths help videos.
Eugene O'Loughlin How to, problem-solving, and statistics.
OpenTuition Free lectures for professional accountancy qualifications - ACCA, CIMA, CAT exams.
PatrickJMT Maths channel.
TED Talks / Economics
TED Talks
Jamie Turner Business, marketing, and leadership; leading speaker on socialnomics.
Wall Street Survivor These videos will help you understand investing.

Notice:

Owing to the current isolation restrictions, we cannot currently offer face to face appointments, but please be aware we are still fully operational in terms of offering remote assistance for your assignments and research. If we can be of any help whatsoever, please do not hesitate to email us.

Keith
Brittle

Cory
Newbigging

 


For Quick Queries:


Visit our page:

https://libguides.ncirl.ie/libraryhelpcentre

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.