Skip to main content
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Cybersecurity Subject Guide: Library Resources

Cybersecurity Introduction

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on cybersecurity. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Cybersecurity Subject Areas:

004.6782 Cloud Computing
005.276 Distributed Computer Systems
005.8 Data Security
005.82 Cryptography
005.84 Malware Analysis
300.72 Research Methods
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics / Data Analysis
658.4038 Business Information Systems /  Management Information Systems
808.0666 Research in Computing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Cybersecurity eBooks:

Bishop, M. (2018) Computer security art and science. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Seacord, R. C. (2013) Secure coding in C and C++.. O'Reilly.

Carstensen, J., Golden, B., and Morgenthal, J. P. (2012) Cloud computing: Assessing the risks. O'Reilly.

Also available on Dawsonera.

Sikorski, M. and Honig, A. (2012) Practical malware analysis: The hands-on guide to dissecting malicious software. O'Reilly.

Kennedy, D., O'Gorman, J., Kearns, D., and Aharoni, M. (2011) Metasploit. O'Reilly.

Steel, C., Nagappan, R., and Lai, R. (2004) Core security patterns: Best practices and strategies for J2EE, web services, and identity management. O'Reilly.

Ligh, M. H., Adair, S., Hartstein, B., and Richard, M. (2011) Malware analyst's cookbook and DVD: Tools and techniques for fighting malicious code. O'Reilly.

Stuttard, D. and Pinto, M. (2011) The web application hacker's handbook: Finding and exploiting security flaws. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Long, F., Mohindra, D., Seacord, R. C., Sutherland, D. F., and Syoboda, D. (2014) Java coding guidelines. O'Reilly.

Weidman, G. (2014) Penetration testing: A hands-on introduction to hacking. O'Reilly.

Manico, J. and Detlefsen, A. (2015) Iron-clad java: Building secure web applications. O'Reilly.

Winkler, V. (2011) Securing the cloud: Cloud computer security techniques and tactics. Dawsonera.

Mittelbach, F. and Goossens, M. (2004) The LaTeX companion. 2nd edn. O'Reilly.

Zalewski, M. (2012) The tangled web: A guide to security modern web application. O'Reilly.

Mueller, J. P. (2016) Security for web developers. O'Reilly.

Zobel, J. (2014) Writing for computer science. 3rd edn. Dawsonera.

Pfleeger, C. P., Pfleeger, S. L., and Margulies, J. (2015) Security in computing. 5th edn. O'Reilly.

   

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or the following databases:

DawsonEra Books by DawsonEra

User Guide

O'Reilly Learning by O'Reilly

User Guide

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Cybersecurity Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Includes over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Subject Areas: 
Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Cybersecurity Journals:

ACM SIGOPS Operation Systems Review (Database: ACM Digital Library)
ACM SIGPLAN Notices (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Communications of the ACM (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Computer Fraud & Security (Database: ScienceDirect)
Computer Law & Security Review (Database: ScienceDirect)
Computers & Electrical Engineering (Database: ScienceDirect)
Computers & Security (Database: ScienceDirect)
Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Digital Investigation (Database: ScienceDirect)
Ethics and Information Technology (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Future Generation Computer Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)
IEEE Internet of Things Journal (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Journal of Cloud Computing (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
Journal of Computer and System Sciences (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Computer Security (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Cyber Security and Mobility 
(Open Access: https://www.riverpublishers.com/journal.php?j=JCSM%20/7/4/1)
Journal of Information Security and Applications (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Network and Computer Applications (Database: ScienceDirect)
Security and Communication Networks 
(Open Access: https://www.hindawi.com/journals/scn/contents/)

undefined

You can access conferences going to the appropriate database link and searching for the conference title within that database.

Recommended Cybersecurity Conferences:

ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Advances in Cryptology (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
Annual Computer Security Applications Conference (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Computer Security Foundations Symposium (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE International Conference on Communications (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Communication Systems and Network Technologies (CSNT) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Computer Science and Electronic Engineering (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Proceedings of ACM SIGPLAN Conference on Programming Language Design and Implementation (Database: ACM Digital Library)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Cybersecurity External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Cybersecurity Video Channels:

APNIC Training APNIC Training conducts face-to-face workshops, tutorials and eLearning courses on Internet and technology topics such as IPv6 Routing, DNS/DNSSEC, Internet Resource Management (IRM), and Network Security. Some of the video recordings are uploaded here.
CWZ Cyberwarzone
Danooct1 Computer viruses, Trojans, and worms in action. From digital mischief to outright destruction, it tries to sample a bit of everything that made older malware (malicious software) unique from its modern-day counterparts.
TheIACR IACR is the International Association for Cryptologic Research.
Millers Tutorials Anything to do with a computer, programming, networking, and security.
NetSecNow A channel focused on teaching network security and penetration testing, and other random technolust stuff.
Norton
OWASP Watch recordings from the Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) AppSec conferences and expand your knowledge on application security.
Lenny Parker This YouTube channel is mostly tutorials of computer tips and minor repairs etc.
PatervaMaltego This is the official YouTube channel for Paterva. Most of the videos here are related to Maltego.
ProgrammingKnowledge Share the code which you learn by watching Programming Knowledge or you can simply share your programming knowledge with others.
SANS Digital Forensics and Incident Response You can no longer afford antiquated incident response techniques that fail to properly identify compromised systems, provide ineffective containment on the breach, and ultimately fail to rapidly remediate the incident. A thorough understanding of many detailed areas is required for success, including a mastery of the following fundamental skills covered by the SANS Digital Forensics and Incident Response (DFIR) YouTube channel.
Simons Institute The Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing is an exciting new venue for collaborative research in theoretical computer science. Its goal is to bring together the world's leading researchers in theoretical computer science and related fields, as well as the next generation of outstanding young scholars, to explore deep unsolved problems about the nature and limits of computation.
Simply Explained - Savjee Taking complicated topics and explaining them in plain English.
Jeff Suzuki While most of these videos relate to college-level and pre-science mathematics, you'll find videos on other topics as well.
Lim Jet Wee Programme Manager, Informatics.

Notice:

Owing to the current isolation restrictions, we cannot currently offer face to face appointments, but please be aware we are still fully operational in terms of offering remote assistance for your assignments and research. If we can be of any help whatsoever, please do not hesitate to email us.

Keith
Brittle

Cory
Newbigging

 


For Quick Queries:


Visit our page:

https://libguides.ncirl.ie/libraryhelpcentre

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.