Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Business Subject Guide: Library Resources

Business heading with a laptop, papers, notepad, pen and coffee mug.

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on business. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Outline of books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Business Subject Areas:

302.35 Organisational Behaviour
330 Economics
338.04 Entrepreneurship
338.5 Business Economics
346.41707 Irish Business Law
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics
650.072 Business Research Methods
657 Business Accounting/Financial Accounting
658 Management
658.049 International Business
658.15 / 658.1511 Corporate Finance /  Financial Management / Management Accounting
658.3 Human Resource Management
658.4012 Strategic Management
658.4038 Business Information Systems /  Management Information Systems
658.404 Project Management
658.5 Operations Management
658.8 Marketing / Services Marketing

Hand swiping book page on tablet

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Business eBooks:

Anderson, D. L. (2020) Organization development: The process of leading organizational change. 5th edn. SAGE Research Methods. McClave, J. T. and Sincich, T. (2018) Statistics. 13th global edn. VLeBooks.
Bozarth, C. B. and Handfield, R. B. (2019) Introduction to operations and supply chain management. 5th global edn. ProQuest eBook Central. McDonald, M., Mouncey, P., and Maklan, S. (2014) Marketing value metrics: A new metrics model to measure marketing effectiveness. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.

Chaffey, D. (2015) Digital business and e-commerce management. 6th edn. VLeBooks.

O'Hagan, J. and O'Toole, F. (eds.) (2017) The economy of Ireland: Policymaking in a global context. 13th edn. VLeBooks.

Cole, G. A. and Kelly, P. (2020) Management theory and practice. 9th edn. VLeBooks.

Paul, D., Cadle, J., and Yeates, D. (2014) Business analysis. 6th edn. O'Reilly.

D'Arcy, M. (2019) An introduction to financial accounting. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central. Project Management Institute (PMI) (2017) A guide to the project management body of knowledge: PMBOK guide. 6th edn. O'Reilly.
Fahy, J. and Jobber, D. (2015) Foundations of marketing. 5th edn. VLeBooks. Quinlan, C. (2011) Business research methods. VLeBooks.
Farnham, P. G. (2014) Economics for managers. 3rd edn. VLeBooks. Quinlan, C., Babin, B., Carr, J., Griffin, M. and Zikmu, W. (2019) Business research methods. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.
Hitt, M. A., Black, S., and Porter, L. (2014) Management. 3rd edn. VLeBooks. Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2016) Management. 13th edn. VLeBooks.

Hollensen, S. (2016) Global marketing: A decision-oriented approach. 7th edn. VLeBooks.

Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2018) Management. 14th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.

Jobber, D., Lancaster, G. and Le Meunier-FitzHugh (2019) Selling and sales management. 11th edn. VLeBooks.

Robbins, S. P., Judge, T. A., and Campbell, T. T. (2017) Organizational behaviour. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central. *also available on VLeBooks

Johnson, G., Whittington, R., and Scholes, K. (2016) Exploring strategy. 11th edn. VLeBooks.

Salkind, N. J. and Frey, B. B. (2020) Statistics for people who (think they) hate statistics. 7th edn. SAGE Research Methods.

Johnson, G., Whittington, R., and Scholes, K. (2012) Fundamentals of strategy. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.

Saunders, M., Lewis, P., and Thornhill, A. (2015) Research methods for business. 7th edn. VLeBooks.

Kotler, P., Keller, K. L., Brady, M., Goodman, M., and Hansen, T. (2009) Marketing management. 1st European edn. VLeBooks.

Slack, N., Brandon-Jones, A., and Johnston, R. (2016) Operations management. 8th edn. VLeBooks.

Kuratko, D. F. (2016) Entrepreneurship. 10th edn. VLeBooks.

Slack, N. and Brandon-Jones, A. (2019) Operations management. 9th edn. VLeBooks.
Larson, E. W. and Gray, C. F. (2021) Project management: The managerial process. 8th edn. ProQuest eBook Central. Sloman, J., Garratt, D., Guest, J., and Jones, E. (2019) Economics for business. 8th edn. VLeBooks.
Laudon, K. C. and Laudon, J. P. (2021) Management information systems: Managing the digital firm. 17th edn. ProQuest eBook Central. Wall, S., Minocha, S., and Rees, B. (2010) International business. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.
Lind, D. A., Marchal, W. G., and Wathen, S. A. (2021) Statistical techniques in business and economics. 18th edn. ProQuest eBook Central. Wall, S., Minocha, S. and Rees, B. (2015) International business. 4th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.
Mankiw, N. G. and Taylor, M. P. (2017) Economics. 4th edn. VLeBooks.                             Watson, D. and Head, A. (2019) Corporate finance: Principles and practice. 8th edn. VLeBooks.
Mankiw, N. G., Taylor, M. P., and Ashwin, A. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

Cloud with database cylinder

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Business Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Better Regulation
Subject Areas: Accounting, Finance, Company, Pensions, Tax Law

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

IMF eLibrary
Features information on Macroeconomics, Globalization, Development, Trade & Aid, Technical Assistance, Demographics, Emerging Markets, Policy Advice, Poverty Reduction and more.
A-Z Databases
International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Regional Business News
Subject Areas: 
More than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals 
Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here 

User Guide

Warc
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Westlaw IE 
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Computer monitor with documents open on the screen

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Business Journals:

Academy of Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Academy of Management Perspectives (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Administrative Science Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
British Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
California Management Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate
International Entrepreneurship & Management Journal (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Irish Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Business Ethics (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Management Decision (Database: ProQuest / Emerald Insight)
MIT Sloan Management Review (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
SAM Advanced Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Strategy & Leadership (Database: ProQuest / Emerald Insight)

Internet symbol with a magnifying glass

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Business External Websites:

Business & Finance https://businessandfinance.com/
Central Bank of Ireland https://www.centralbank.ie/
Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie
Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation https://dbei.gov.ie/en/
Economic and Social Research Institute https://www.esri.ie/
Enterprise Ireland https://www.enterprise-ireland.com/en/
Entrepreneur https://www.entrepreneur.com/
Europa https://europa.eu/european-union/documents-publications/statistics_en
European Central Bank https://www.ecb.europa.eu/home/html/index.en.html
European Open Data Portal https://data.europa.eu/euodp/en/home
Eurostat https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/
Greg Mankiw’s Blog http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/
Irish Business Employers Confederation https://www.ibec.ie
Inc. https://www.inc.com/
Independent.ie https://www.independent.ie/
International Labour Organization http://www.ilo.org/global/lang--en/index.htm
International Monetary Fund https://www.imf.org/external/index.htm
IMF eLibrary https://www.elibrary.imf.org/?redirect=true
Irish Economy http://www.irisheconomy.ie/
Irish Times https://www.irishtimes.com/
Karl Whelan http://karlwhelan.com/blog/
TED.com/topics https://www.ted.com/topics
Workplace Relations https://www.workplacerelations.ie

Outline of buildings.

Over the duration of your NCI course, you may be required to find information on a company for your assignments. The following databases provide access to company reports and company profiles for a variety of multinational companies. You can access any database the library subscribes to through the library's A-Z Databases page.

Databases with Company Information
Business Source Ultimate

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Access Company Profiles:

Go to Business Source Ultimate
Select 'More' from the navigation bar
Choose 'Company Profiles' from the drop-down menu
Search for a company name in the search box
ProQuest Business Collection

Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing. Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.

Access Company Reports:

Go to ProQuest Business Collection
Select 'Reports' from 'More' drop down menu above the search box
In the search box, search for the company name followed by AND "company profile". For example, Ryanair AND "company profile"
Statista

Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

Access Company Information:

Go to Statista
Go to the 'Reports' menu at the top of the page
                            Select the 'Brands & Company Reports' option
Search for a company name in the search box
OR
                            Go to Statista
                            Go to the 'Company DB' option on the navigation bar
                            Search for a company name in the search box
WARC

Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media

Access Company Information:

Go to WARC
Scroll to the bottom of the page
Under the 'More' menu select 'Company Profiles'
Search for a company name in the search box

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Help Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.

Keith
Brittle
Cory
Newbigging
Shannon
Mallon

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.