Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Accounting Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on accounting. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

undefined

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Accounting Subject Areas:

174.4 Business Ethics
330 Economics
332.645 Derivatives and Risk Management
336.2 Taxation
338.5 Business Economics/Microeconomics
339 / 339.094 Macroeconomics
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics / Data Analysis
657 Business Accounting / Financial Accounting
657.3 Financial Statement Analysis
658 Management
658.15 / 658.1511 Corporate Finance / Financial Management / Management Accounting
658.8 Marketing

undefined

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Accounting eBooks:

Atrill, P. and McLaney, E. J. (2014) Accounting and finance for non-specialists. 9th edn. VLeBooks.

Mankiw, N. G. and Taylor, M. P. (2017) Economics. 4th edn. VLeBooks.

undefined

Benninga, S. (2014) Financial modeling. 4th edn. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Mankiw, N. G., Taylor, M. P., and Ashwin, A. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.

Cole, G. A. and Kelly, P. (2020) Management: Theory and practice. 9th edn. VLeBooks.

Melville, A. (2013) International financial reporting: A practical guide. 4th edn. VLeBooks.

D'Arcy, M. (2019) An introduction to financial accounting. 2nd edn. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Mintzberg, H. (2009) Managing. VLeBooks.

Dyson, J. R. (2010) Accounting for non-accounting students. 8th edn. VLeBooks.

undefined

Robbins, S.P. and Coulter, M. (2018) Management. 14th global edn. ProQuest Ebook Central.

Fahy, J. and Jobber, D. (2015) Foundations of marketing. 5th edn. VLeBooks. Robbins, S.P. and Coulter, M. (2015) Management. 13th global edn. VLeBooks.
Hull, J. C. (2018) Options, futures and other derivatives. Global edn. VLeBooks. Watson, D. and Head, A. (2019) Corporate finance: Principles and practice. 8th edn. VLeBooks.
undefined Lind, D. A., Marchal, W. G., and Wathen, S. A. (2020) Statistical techniques in business & economics. 18th edn. ProQuest Ebook Central.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

undefined

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Accounting Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Academic Search Complete 
Subject Areas:
Multidisciplinary database including Accounting

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Better Regulation
Subject Areas: Accounting, Finance, Company, Pensions, Tax Law

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

IMF eLibrary
Features information on Macroeconomics, Globalization, Development, Trade & Aid, Technical Assistance, Demographics, Emerging Markets, Policy Advice, Poverty Reduction and more.
A-Z Databases

International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

User Guide

Warc
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

undefined

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Accounting Journals:

Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal (Database: Emerald Insight)
Accounting Horizons (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
The Accounting Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Admap Magazine (Database: Warc)
Finance & Development (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection / EBSCO Open Access Journals)
Harvard Business Review (Business Source Ultimate) *See access information below
Journal of Advertising Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Applied Corporate Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Applied Quantitative Methods (Database: Academic Search Complete / EBSCO Open Access Journals)
Journal of Economics & Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Financial Counseling & Planning (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Financial Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Marketing Intelligence & Planning (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection /  Emerald Insight)

Harvard Business Review:

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Ultimate. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent URL. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic coursepacks, persistent linking from syllabi, or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be uploaded or linked to Moodle

Click here for 500 Article Titles

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Accounting External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Accounting Video Channels:

aCOWtancy - ACCA, CIMA and CAT online learning system
CFA course - Preparation for the CFA® exam, from quantitative methods to derivatives and alternative investments
ChattState Math
Codible - Mainly focused on Microsoft Excel - basic proficiency in Excel, financial analysis using Excel, business analytics using Excel
Cultnomics
DeatonMath
Doughnut Economics
Edspira - Business education channel
Dave Gagne - Market trader and investor
Paddy Hirsch - From economics to financial markets and other topics
David Johnk - How to solve various problems on Excel
Khan Academy - Videos help students succeed in maths, economics, finance and many other topics
Jaime Lancaster - Learn how to use Excel to analyse financial data
LSBFGlobalMBA - MBA platform which includes corporate finance videos
Mathsispower4u - This channel provides maths tutorials from basic arithmetic through calculus III and more
Mjmfoodie - Covers the main principles of economics
Nabifroese - Online maths help videos
Eugene O'Loughlin - How to, problem-solving and statistics
PatrickJMT - Maths channel
TED Talks / Economics
Jamie Turner - Business, marketing and leadership; leading speaker on socialnomics


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.