Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Organisational Behaviour Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on organisational behaviour. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Organisational Behaviour Subject Areas:

158.7 Industrial Psychology
302.35 Organisational Behaviour
658 Management
658.3 Human Resource Management
658.4 Corporate Governance / Executive Management
658.402 Management of Teams
658.406 Change Management

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Organisational Behaviour eBooks:

Armstrong, M. (2011) Armstrong's handbook of strategic human resource management. 5th edn. VLeBooks.

Mintzberg, H. (2009) Managing. VLeBooks.

Buchanan, D. A. and Huczynski, A. (2017) Organizational behaviour. 9th edn. VLeBooks. Mullins, L. J. and Christy, G. (2016) Management and organisational behaviour. 11th edn. VLeBooks.
Burnes, B. (2009) Managing change. 5th edn. VLeBooks. Robbins, S. P. (2014) Decide and conquer: The ultimate guide for improving your decision making. 2nd edn. O'Reilly Learning.
Carbery, R. and Cross, C. (2019) Human resource management. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central. Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. K. (2015) Management. 13th global edn. VLeBooks.
Carnegie, D. (2015) A Joosr guide to... How to win friends and influence people. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Robbins, S. P., Judge, T. A. and Campbell, T. T. (2017) Organizational behaviour. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central.

Johnson, G., Whittington, R., Scholes, K., Angwin, D. and Regnér, P. (2017) Exploring strategy: Text and cases. 11th edn. VLeBooks. Schein, E. H. and Schein, P. (2016) Organizational culture and leadership. 5th edn. O'Reilly Learning.
Katzenbach, J. R. and Smith, D. K. (1993) The wisdom of teams: Creating the high-performance organization. Harvard Business Publishing Collection. Schermerhorn Jr., J. R., Osborn, R. N., Uhl-Bien, M. and Hunt, J. G. (2011) Organizational behavior. 12th edn. O'Reilly Learning.
Lencioni, P. (2002) The five dysfunctions of a team: A leadership fable. O'Reilly Learning. Whitehurst, J. (2015) The open organization: Igniting passion and performance. Harvard Business Publishing Collection.
Luthans, F. (2015) Organizational behavior: An evidence-based approach. 13th edn. EBSCO eBook Business Collection. Zedeck, S. (ed.) (2011) APA handbook of industrial and organizational psychology, Vol 3: Maintaining, expanding, and contracting the organization. APA PsycBooks.

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Organisational Behaviour Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Academic Search Complete
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database including Organisational Behaviour

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

APA PsycArticles
Subject Area: 
Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology *includes access to Fortune

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas:
 Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner, New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and The Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Subject Areas: Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals
Subject Areas: 
Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect

Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Areas: Psychology, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista
Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off-campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Organisational Behaviour Journals:

Academy of Management Perspectives (Business Source Ultimate)
American Economic Review (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
American Psychologist (APA PsycArticles)
The Atlantic (Academic Search Complete / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
British Journal of Management (Business Source Ultimate)
Business Horizons (ScienceDirect)
Corporate Governance: The International Journal of Business in Society (Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Harvard Business Review (Business Source Ultimate)
HR Magazine (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Human Resource Management (Business Source Ultimate)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (Business Source Ultimate)
Irish Journal of Management (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Applied Psychology (APA PsycArticles)
Journal of Finance (Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Management (Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
Journal of Management & Organization (ProQuest Business Source Premium Collection)
Journal of Marketing (Business Source Ultimate /  SAGE Journals)
Journal of Organizational Behavior (Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Vocational Behavior (ScienceDirect)
Management Science (Business Source Ultimate)
MIT Sloan Management Review (ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Personality and Individual Differences (ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Psychological Science (SAGE Journals)
Psychologist (Academic Search Complete / Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection)
Workforce (Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Organisational Behaviour External Websites:

American Psychological Association www.apa.org/
Balance Careers www.thebalancecareers.com/
BBC News www.bbc.com/news
Central Statistics Office www.cso.ie/en/index.html
ComPsych www.compsych.com/
Economic & Social Research Institute www.esri.ie/
Economist www.economist.com/
Fortune www.fortune.com/
Health and Safety Authority www.hsa.ie/
Ibec www.ibec.ie/
Independent.ie www.independent.ie/
Irish Times www.irishtimes.com/
Medium www.medium.com/
New York Times www.nytimes.com/
Organizational Pysics www.organizationalphysics.com/
Personality Psychology Tests www.outofservice.com/
RTE News / Business www.rte.ie/news/business/
SHRM www.shrm.org/
TED Talks www.ted.com/talks
WebFX www.webfx.com/

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Organisational Behaviour Video Channels:

Agile for All - To help create Agile workplaces that humanize work, unlock team capacity and support leaders to sustainably deliver business value.
Alanis Business Academy - On Alanis Business Academy you can learn a variety of topics, including management, personal finances, and business strategy.
AsapSCIENCE - Making science make sense.
Big Think - Big Think is a source of expert-driven, actionable, educational content -- with thousands of videos, featuring experts ranging from Bill Clinton to Bill Nye, you can get actionable lessons from the world's greatest thinkers & doers who are either disrupting or leading their respective fields. Designed to help you explore the big ideas and core skills that define knowledge in the 21st century.
Dana Brownlee - Professionalism Matters, an online source for professional development videos and training with videos and workshops specifically designed to provide tips and techniques to help improve effectiveness in the workplace.
Stephen Harvard Davis - A team specialist, business speaker, and team mentor with videos ranging from interview skills for both candidates and interviewers, managing a team, and answering business questions.
Faupsy1012 - Educational films related to the study of general psychology.
Google - Google's official YouTube channel.
GreggU - Gregg Learning, contains thousands of videos.
Institute for Management Development IMD
Bob Kelleher - An award winning author, speaker, thought leader, and consultant who shares his insights on employee engagement, leadership, and workforce trends. The author of 4 books, he is also the President and Founder of The Employee Engagement Group (EmployeeEngagement.com).
Andy Luttrell - "Be a People Expert" - all about social psychology and learning about the science of psychology and what makes people think and act the way they do.
MindToolsVideo - Learn management, leadership and personal excellence skills to help you learn the practical skills needed to excel in a career.
Practical Psychology - Dedicated to giving high-quality and informative videos from financial tips and happiness to psychological tips, personal development, and even productivity advice.
Psychology Unlocked - Introduces you to key psychological theories, studies and approaches in bite-sized videos.
The RBL Group - A global professional services firm committed to creating value through leadership and talent, strategic HR, and aligned organization and capability.
RSA - The royal society for arts, manufactures and commerce, contains inspiring talks and reasoned debate.
Smart by Design - Creating educational animated videos whether it's philosophy, psychology, science or anything in between.
Stanford Graduate School of Business - The mission of Standford Graduate School of Business is to create ideas that deepen and advance our understanding of management and with those ideas to develop innovative, principled, and insightful leaders - features thought leadership from world-class faculty and renowned guest speakers.
TED - A nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas in the form of short, powerful talks.
TED - The TED Talks channel features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world's leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes (or less).
TED-Ed - Within TED-Ed's growing library of TED-Ed animations, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through TED-Ed website (ed.ted.com).
TEDx Talks - TEDx is an international community that organizes TED-style events anywhere and everywhere -- celebrating locally-driven ideas and elevating them to a global stage. TEDx events are produced independently of TED conferences, each event curates speakers on their own, but based on TED's format and rules.
Dr. Dustin York - Teaching topics such as interpersonal, nonverbal, and public communication, as well as digital transformation, social media, and brand development, Dr. York is a subject matter expert for CNN, Entrepreneur.com, and Forbes, a contributor for Harvard Business Review and serves as a keynote speaker and trainer.


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.