Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Mobile and Web Technologies Subject Guide: Library Resources

undefined

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on mobile and web technologies. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Mobile and Web Technologies Subject Areas:

004.21 Systems Analysis and Design
004.6782 Cloud Computing
005.1 Software Engineering / Programming
005.133 Object Oriented Programming / Specific Programming Languages
005.43 Operating Systems / Virtualisation
005.74 Database Systems
005.8 Data Security
006.74 Markup Languages (HTML, CSS etc.)
006.76 Programming (Internet and the Web)
658.4012 Strategic Management
658.4038 Business Information Systems / Management Information Systems
808.066 / 808.0666 Research in Computing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Mobile and Web Technologies eBooks:

Chin, R. (2014) Beginning android 3D game development. O'Reilly.

Jamro, M. (2013) Windows phone 8 game development. O'Reilly.

Delessio, C., Darcey, L. and Conder, S. (2015) Sams teach yourself android development in 24 hours. 4th edn. O'Reilly. Lantz, B. (2013) Machine learning with R. O'Reilly.
Fernandez, O. and Faustino, K. (2014) The Rails 4 way. 3rd edn. O'Reilly.

Lutz, M. (2013) Learning Python. 5th edn. O'Reilly.

Gasston, P. (2013) The modern Web: Multi device Web development with HTML5, CSS3, and Javascript. O'Reilly.

Matsuda, K. and Lea, R. (2013) WebGL programming guide: Interactive 3D graphics programming with webGL. O'Reilly.

Ginsburg, D. and Purnomo, B. (2014) OpenGL ES 3.0 programming guide. 2nd edn. O'Reilly. Ray, J. (2014) Sams teach yourself iOS 7 application development in 24 hours. 7th edn. O'Reilly.

Harold, E. R. (2013) Java network programming. 4th edn. O'Reilly.

Silberschatz, A., Galvin, P. B. and Gagne, G. (2013) Operating system concepts. 9th edn. O'Reilly.

Harris, A. (2013) HTML5 game development for dummies. O'Reilly.

 

 

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Mobile and Web Technologies Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Warc
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing and Media

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Mobile and Web Technologies Journals:

Decision Support Systems (Database: ScienceDirect)
Future Generation Computer Systems  (Database: ScienceDirect)
Human-Computer Interaction (Database: Business Source Ultimate / Academic Search Complete)
IEEE Internet Computing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Communications (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Parallel & Distributed Systems (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Visualization & Computer Graphics (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Information Visualization (Database: SAGE Journals)
Journal of Cloud Computing (Open Access: Springer Link)
Journal of Parallel & Distributed Computing (Open Access: Springer Link)
MIS Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
User Modeling & User-Adapted Interaction (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Mobile and Web Technologies External Websites:

Adaptive path http://www.adaptivepath.com/
Alan Bundy - How To Write an Informatics Paper https://sweb.inf.ed.ac.uk/bundy/
Android Developers https://developer.android.com/
Apple Developers https://developer.apple.com/
Coding Horror https://blog.codinghorror.com/
embedded https://www.embedded.com/
Google Developers https://developers.google.com/
IBM Rational Software https://www.ibm.com/products/software
Joel on Software https://www.joelonsoftware.com/
jQuery Foundation https://learn.jquery.com/
kony – resources https://www.kony.com/resources/
Learning jQuery https://www.learningjquery.com/
Microsoft Developer Network https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/
Mozilla Developer Network https://developer.mozilla.org
ns-3 https://www.nsnam.org/
Open Group http://www.opengroup.org/
Open Web Application Security Project https://www.owasp.org/
PentesterLab https://pentesterlab.com/
PortSwigger https://portswigger.net/
SANS  http://www.sans.org/
sitepoint reference https://www.sitepoint.com/
Udacity  https://eu.udacity.com/
Web Center for Social Research Methods https://www.socialresearchmethods.net/

Need advice for your assignments or research?


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.