This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on management. You can use it to:
The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.
Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library
Management Subject Areas:
|001.42 / 300.72||Research Methods|
|344.41501||Health & Safety Law-Ireland / Employment Law in Ireland|
|519.5||Statistics for Business & Economics|
|650.072||Business Research Methods|
|658.15||Corporate Finance / Financial Management|
|658.3||Human Resource Management|
|658.4038||Business Information Systems / Management Information Systems|
|658.87||Marketing Channels / Retailing|
You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.
Recommended Management eBooks:
|Bozarth, C. B. and Handfield, R. B. (2019) Introduction to operations and supply chain management. 5th global edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Project Management Institute (2017) A guide to the project management body of knowledge. 6th edn. O'Reilly.|
|Chaffey, D. (2015) Digital business and e-commerce management. 6th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Daft, R. (2011) New Era of Management. 10th edn. VLeBooks.||Quinlan, C., Babin, B., Carr, J., Griffin, M. and Zikmu, W. (2019) Business research methods. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.|
|Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2015) Management. 13th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Farnham, P. G. (2014) Economics for managers. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.||Robbins, S. P. and Coulter, M. (2018) Management. 14th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.|
|Hitt, M. J., Black, S. and Porter, L. W. (2014) Management. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.||Robbins, S. P., Judge, T. A., and Campbell, T. T. (2017) Organizational behaviour. 2nd edn. ProQuest eBook Central. *also available on VLeBooks|
|Jobber, D., Lancaster, G. and Le Meunier-FitzHugh, K. (2019) Selling and sales management. 11th edn. VLeBooks.||Salkind, N. J. and Frey, B. B. (2020) Statistics for people who (think they) hate statistics. 7th edn. SAGE Research Methods.|
|Larson, E. W. and Gray, C. F. (2021) Project management: The managerial process. 8th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Slack, N. and Brandon-Jones, A. (2019) Operations management. 9th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Laudon, K. C. and Laudon, J. P. (2021) Management information systems: Managing the digital firm. 17th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Sloman, J., Garratt, D., Guest, J., and Jones, E. (2019) Economics for business. 8th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Lind, D. A., Marchal, W. G., and Wathen, S. A. (2021) Statistical techniques in business and economics. 18th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.||Saunders, M., Lewis, P. and Thornhill, A. (2015) Research methods for business students. 7th edn. VLeBooks.|
|Mankiw, N. G. and Taylor, M. P. (2017) Economics. 4th edn. VLeBooks.||Wall, S. Minocha, S. and Rees, B. (2010) International business. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.|
|Mankiw, N. G., Taylor, M. P., and Ashwin, A. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.||Walsh, C. (2008) Key management ratios. 4th edn. VLeBooks.|
|McClave, J. T. and Sincich, T. (2018) Statistics. 13th global edn. VLeBooks.|
In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.
Recommended Management Databases:
|Database & Subject Areas||Access Through|
Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship
Registration required for off-campus use
Features information on Macroeconomics, Globalization, Development, Trade & Aid, Technical Assistance, Demographics, Emerging Markets, Policy Advice, Poverty Reduction and more.
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.
|ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing
|SAGE Research Methods
Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Irish Case Law, Irish Law Journals, Irish Law eBooks
Recommended Management Journals:
|Academy of Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Academy of Management Perspectives (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Academy of Management Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|The Economist (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
|Financial Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Human Relations (Database: SAGE Journals)|
|Human Resource Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Human Resource Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|International Entrepreneurship & Management Journal (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
|Irish Journal of Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
|Management Decision (Database: Emerald Insights / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
|MIT Sloan Management Review (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
|People Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|SAM Advanced Management Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)|
|Strategy & Leadership (Database: Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)|
In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.
Recommended Management External Websites:
|The Balance - Human Resources||https://www.thebalancecareers.com/human-resources-4161680|
|Business & Finance||https://businessandfinance.com/|
|Central Statistics Office||https://www.cso.ie|
|Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development||https://www.cipd.co.uk/|
|Economic and Social Research Institute||https://www.esri.ie/|
|Government of Ireland||http://www.gov.ie/|
|Health and Safety Authority||https://www.hsa.ie/eng/|
|Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission||https://www.ihrec.ie/|
|Irish Statute Book||http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/|
|Law Society of Ireland||https://www.lawsociety.ie/|
|Society for Human Resource Management||https://www.shrm.org/|
Over the duration of your NCI course, you may be required to find information on a company for your assignments. The following databases provide access to company reports and company profiles for a variety of multinational companies. You can access any database the library subscribes to through the library's A-Z Databases page.
|Databases with Company Information|
|Business Source Ultimate|
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology
Access Company Profiles:
|ProQuest Business Collection|
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing. Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal.
Access Company Reports:
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports
Access Company Information:
Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media
Access Company Information:
Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.
|Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on|
|Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.|