Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Employee Relations & Industrial Relations Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on employee relations and industrial relations. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books. You can take a look at the Library Map to see where the subject areas are located in the library

Employee Relations & Industrial Relations Subject Areas:

302 Social Psychology
303.69 Mediation and Conflict Management
306.3 Sociology for Work
320 Political Science
331 Employee Relations / Industrial Relations
331.09417 Industrial Relations in Ireland
331.892 Strikes
344.41501 Employment Law in Ireland
658.3 Human Resource Management
658.315 Employment Relations

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Employee Relations & Industrial Relations eBooks:

Armstrong, M. and Taylor, S. (2020) Armstrong's handbook of human resource management practice. 15th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.

Kelly, J. (2002) Rethinking industrial relations: Mobilisation, collectivism and long waves. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Bennett, T., Saundry, R. and Fisher, V. (2020) Managing employment relations. 7th edn. VLeBooks. 

Lewin, D. and Gollan, J. (eds.) (2018) Advances in industrial and labor relations, 2017: Shifts in workplace voice, justice, negotiation and conflict resolution in contemporary workplaces. Volume 24. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Berg, J. and Kucera, D. (eds.) (2008) In defence of labour market institutions: Cultivating justice in the developing world. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Livanos, I. and Papadopoulos, O. (2019) The rise of precarious employment in Europe: Theoretical perspectives, reforms and employment trends in the era of economic crisis. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Bingham, C. (2016) Employment relations: Fairness and trust in the workplace. Open Access.

Sotelo Valencia, A. (2015) The future of work: Super-exploitation and social precariousness in the 21st century. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Bratton, J. and Gold, J. (2017) Human resource management: Theory & practice. 6th edn. VLeBooks.

Wilkinson, A., Dundon, T., Donaghery, J. and Colvin, A. J. (eds.) (2018) The Routledge companion to employment relations. O'Reilly Learning.

Heyes, J. and Rychly, L. (eds.) (2013) Labour administration in uncertain times: Policy, practice and institutions. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.

Yukl, G. and Gardner, W. L. (2019) Leadership in organizations. Global edn. ProQuest eBook Central.

International Labour Office (2013) Collective bargaining in the public service: A way forward. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.    

 

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Employee Relations & Industrial Relations Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

Academic Search Complete
Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database including Employee Relations and Industrial Relations

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Emerald Insight
Subject Areas:
 Multidisciplinary database, Accounting & Finance, Economics, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Financial Times
Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship

Registration required for off-campus use

User Guide

Industrial Relations News (IRN)
Subject Areas: 
Industrial relations, Human Resource Management

A-Z Databases (on campus only)

International Newsstream
Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Subject Areas: Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals
Subject Areas: 
Economics, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Statista
Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off-campus access go here and select National College of Ireland

A-Z Databases

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Employee Relations & Industrial Relations Journals:

Administration (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Applied Psychology: An International Review (Academic Search Complete /  Business Source Ultimate / Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection)
British Journal of Industrial Relations (Business Source Ultimate)
Economic and Industrial Democracy: An International Journal (SAGE Journals)
Economic and Social Review (ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Employee Relations (Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
European Journal of Industrial Relations (SAGE Journals)
Gender in Management: An International Journal (Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Gender, Work and Organization (Academic Search Complete / Business Source Ultimate)
Globalizations (Academic Search Complete)
Harvard Business Review (Business Source Ultimate)
HR Magazine (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Human Relations (Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
Human Resource Management (Business Source Ultimate)
Human Resource Management Journal (Business Source Ultimate)
Industrial & Labor Relations Review (Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
Industrial Relations (Business Source Ultimate)
Industrial Relations Journal (Business Source Ultimate)
International Journal of Human Resource Management (Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Industrial Relations (SAGE Journals)
Journal of Organizational Behavior (Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Organizational Change Management (Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Management (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
New Technology, Work and Employment (Business Source Ultimate)
People Management (Business Source Ultimate up to 2019)
Personnel Review (Emerald Insight / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Problems and Perspective in Management (ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Quarterly Economic Commentary (Business Source Ultimate / ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Review of Public Personnel Administration: The Journal of Public Human Resource Management (SAGE Journals)
Transfer: European Review of Labour and Research (SAGE Journals)
Work and Occupations: An International Sociological Journal (Business Source Ultimate / SAGE Journals)
Work Employment and Society (SAGE Journals)

undefined

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Employee Relations & Industrial Relations External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

Associated Craft Butchers of Ireland https://www.craftbutchers.ie/
Association of Secondary Teachers in Ireland https://www.asti.ie/
Bakers Food and Allied Workers Union https://www.bfawu.org/
BioPharmaChem Ireland https://biopharmachemireland.ie/
Capitalism.org https://www.capitalism.org/
Central Statistics Office https://www.cso.ie/
Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development https://www.cipd.co.uk/
CiteHR https://www.citehr.com/
Communication Worker's Union https://www.cwu.ie/
Connect Trade Union https://www.connectunion.ie/
Construction Industry Federation https://cif.ie/
Courts Service of Ireland https://www.courts.ie/
Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment https://enterprise.gov.ie/en/
Drinks Ireland https://www.ibec.ie/drinksireland
Economic & Social Research Institute https://www.esri.ie/
Electrical Industries Federation of Ireland https://www.eifi.ie/
European Commission https://ec.europa.eu/info/index_en
European Court of Human Rights https://www.echr.coe.int/
European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions https://www.eurofound.europa.eu/
European Union https://europa.eu/european-union/index_en
European Parliament https://www.europarl.europa.eu/portal/en


The Library Help Centre currently offers online appointments as well as remote assistance via email.

Request an appointment or contact us:

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging


For Quick Queries:

Library Map

Take a look at the Library Map to find where a subject number is on the shelves.

Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.