LibGuides: Economics Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on economics. You can use it to:

locate books, eBooks and journal articles
search relevant databases
connect to useful websites
reference properly and avoid plagiarism

Check Out These Books

Economics by Gregory N. Mankiw; Mark P. Taylor
2020, 5th edition. Shelfmark: 330
Business economics by Gregory N. Mankiw; Mark P. Taylor; Andrew Ashwin
2024, 4th edition, Shelfmark: 338.5024
Economics for Managers by Paul G. Farnham
2014, 3rd international edition, Shelfmark: 330

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books.

Economics Subject Areas:

153.42	Critical Thinking
174.4	Business Ethics
306.3	Economic Institutions
330	Economics
332.6	Investments
338.5	Business Economics/Microeconomics
339/339.094	Macroeconomics
519.5	Statistics for Business & Economics/Data Analysis
658.8	General Management of Marketing

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Economics eBooks:

	Akerlof, A. G. and Kranton, R. E. (2010) Identity economics: How our identities shape our work, wages, and well-being. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.		Jorgenson, D. W., Fukao, K. and Timmer, M. P. (2016) The world economy: Growth or stagnation. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.
	Allen, K. and O'Boyle, B. (2013) Austerity Ireland: The failure of Irish capitalism. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.		Lepenies, P. (2016) The power of a single number: A political history of GDP. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.
	Bazerman, M. H. and Tenbrunsel, A. E. (2011) Blind spots: Why we fail to do what's right and what to do about It. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.		Mankiw, N. G., Taylor, M. P., and Ashwin, A. (2019) Business economics. 3rd edn. VLeBooks.
	Blanchard, O., Amighini, A. and Giavazzi F. (2021) Macroeconomics: A European perspective. 4th edn. ProQuest eBook Central.		Mankiw, N. G. and Taylor, M. P. (2023) Economics. 6th edn. VLeBooks.
	Blanchard, O. (2021) Macroeconomics. 8th global edn. ProQuest Ebook Central.		National Bureau of Economic Research (2015) The rate and direction of inventive activity: Economic and social factors. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.
	Constantinides, G. M., Harris, M., and Stulz, R. M. (2013) Handbook of the economics of finance. O’Reilly Learning.		O'Hagan, J. and O’Toole, F. (2017) The economy of Ireland: Policy-making in a global context. 13th edn. VLeBooks.
	Davison, M. (2014) Quantitative finance: A simulation based introduction using Excel. O’Reilly Learning.		Pareto, V., Montesano, A., Zanni, A. and Bruni, L. (2013) Manual of political economy: A critical and variorum edition. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.
	DeFusco, R. A., Pinto, J. E., Runkle, D. E. and McLeavey, D. W. (2020) Quantitative investment analysis. 4th edn. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.		Piketty, T. (2014) Capital in the twenty-first century. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.
	Donovan, D. and Murphy, A. E. (2014) The fall of the Celtic Tiger: Ireland and the Euro debt crisis. ProQuest eBook Central.		Rivera, R. (2020) Principles of managerial statistics and data science. O’Reilly Learning.
	Farnham, P. G. (2014) Economics for managers. 3^rd International edn. VLeBooks.		Sloman, J., Garratt, D., Jones, E. and Guest, J. (2019) Economics for business. 8th edn. VLeBooks.
	Guzman, M. (2018) Toward a just society: Joseph Stiglitz and twenty-first century economics. EBSCO eBook Business Collection.		Wooldridge, J. M. (2020) Introductory econometrics: A modern approach. 7th edn. VLeBooks.

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Economics Databases:

Database & Subject Areas		Access Through
Academic Search Complete Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database including Finance		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
APA PsycArticles Subject Areas: Addiction, Applied Psychology, Cognition and Memory, Developmental Psychology, Gender and Sexual Orientation, Health Psychology, Methodology, Social Psychology, etc.		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Business Source Ultimate Includes access to The Economist Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Emerald Insight Subject Areas: Multidisciplinary database, Accounting, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Organisational Behaviour, Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Strategy		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Financial Times Subject Areas: Finance, Economics, Management, Business & Entrepreneurship		Registration required for off-campus use User Guide
IMF eLibrary Features information on Macroeconomics, Globalization, Development, Trade & Aid, Technical Assistance, Demographics, Emerging Markets, Policy Advice, Poverty Reduction and more.		A-Z Databases
International Newsstream Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format including over 800 of the world's top news sources and featuring access to the Irish Times, Irish Independent, Irish Examiner etc.		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection Includes access to The Wall Street Journal Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Journals Subject Areas: Economics, Management, Marketing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
SAGE Research Methods Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list. Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings		A-Z Databases User Guide
ScienceDirect Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books. Subject Areas: Finance, Computing		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Scopus Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities		Discovery A-Z Databases User Guide
Statista Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports		For off campus access go here User Guide
Warc Subject Areas: Communications, Marketing, Media		A-Z Databases User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Economics Journals and Magazines:

American Economic Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Brookings Papers on Economic Activity (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Econometrica (Database: Business Premium Collection)

Economic Journal (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Economic Modelling (Database: ScienceDirect)

Economica (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Finance & Development (Database: Business Premium Collection)

Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Human Relations (Database: Sage)

IMF Working Papers (Database: EBSCO Open Access Journals)

Journal of Consumer Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Economic Literature (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Economic Perspectives (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Economic Psychology (Database: ScienceDirect)

Journal of Finance (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Financial Economics (Database: ScienceDirect)

Journal of Marketing Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Monetary Economics (Database: ScienceDirect)

Journal of Personality and Social Psychology (Database: APA PsycArticles)

Journal of Political Economy (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Journal of Public Economics (Database: ScienceDirect)

The RAND Journal of Economics (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

The Review of Economics and Statistics (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Management Science (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Marketing Science (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

NBER Working Paper Series (Database: Business Premium Collection)

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (Database: EBSCO Open Access Journals)

Quarterly Journal of Economics (Database: Business Source Ultimate)

Science (Database: JSTOR Free Early Journal Content)

You can access conferences going to the appropriate database link and searching for the conference title within that database.

Recommended Economics Conferences:

Carnegie-Rochester Conference Series on Public Policy (Database: ScienceDirect)

Annual Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (Database: IEEE)

CHI: Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)

Conference on Fairness, Accountability, and Transparency (Database: ACM Digital Library)

Conference on Research in Income and Wealth (NBER)

IARIW-ESCoE Conference on Intangible Assets (Economic Statistics Centre of Excellence)

International Conference on Digital Signal Processing (DSP) (Database: IEEE)

International Conference on Social and Human Sciences (ICHSS)

IMC: Internet Measurement Conference (Database: ACM Digital Library)

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Economics Video Channels:

Adam Smith Institute	The purpose of the Adam Smith Institute, one of the world's leading think tanks, was and is to educate the public about free markets and economic policy.
BBC Global	The best short videos and explainers from the BBC.
Business Model Insights	Offers short videos addressing business models.
Business School 101	Educational videos covering various business disciplines.
The BVA Family	YouTube channel about economics in French.
Columbia Business School	Provides daily access to influential industry leaders.
Crash Course	Educational videos on a wide variety of subjects, ranging from the humanities to sciences.
Cultnomics	Explores all things economics.
DEAL	Doughnut Economics Action Lab (DEAL) is part of the emerging global movement of new economic thinking and doing.
EU Made Simple	The European Union made simple, transparent, and accessible.
Federal Reserve	Official channel of the Federal Reserve Board of Governors of the United States.
Fight Mediocrity	Book summaries and short videos on a vast array of subjects.
The Great Simplification	Podcast exploring topics spanning ecology, economics, energy, geopolitics, human behavior, and monetary/financial systems.
Green TV channel	Videos focusing on sustainability.
HKUST Business School	Selection of videos from event highlights to alumni talks and industry seminars.
Jacob Clifford	Videos to help students learn and love economics.
Khan Academy	Videos to help students succeed in math, biology, chemistry, physics, history, economics, finance, grammar, and many other topics.
Maths and Stats	Introductory videos on performing fundamental statistical calculations.
Nexxworks	Nexxworks is a thought-leader community dedicated to helping companies thrive in the age of disruption.
Oxford Academic	The official Oxford Academic YouTube channel features videos from leading authors, experts, and academics in a range of fields.
PBS News Hour	Breaking and live news, plus special coverage.
Professor Dave Explains	Tutorials on physics & astronomy, chemistry, biological sciences, life sciences, mathematics, social sciences, and more.
RSA	Inspiring talks. Award-winning animations.
The School of Life	YouTube channel delving into work, relationships, therapy and much more, breaking down the ideas of great thinkers into engaging and relatable content.
TED-Ed	Award-winning animated shorts.
TEDx talks	TEDx is an international community that organizes TED-style events.
Then Now	Video essays about History, Politics and Philosophy.
Time	Daily news, interviews, science, technology, politics, health, entertainment, and business updates.
University of Chicago	Official channel of the University of Chicago.
United Nations	Official channel of the UN.
Vancouver School of Economics	Official channel of Vancouver School of Economics at UBC
WBCSD	The World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) is the leading community of over 250 global businesses making sustainability performance a key driver for competitiveness.
WSJ Podcasts	Podcasts from the Wall Street Journal.

In addition to using the college resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Economics External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

American Psychological Association	https://apa.org/
Axios	https://axios.com/
BBC	https://bbc.com/
Behavioral Economics	https://behavioraleconomics.com/
Bloomberg	https://bloomberg.com/
Brookings	https://brookings.edu/
Business and Finance	https://businessandfinance.com/
Pied Piper - Live Crypto Prices & Market Cap Charts	http://businessdocbox.com
BuzzFeed	https://buzzfeed.com/
Competition & Consumer Protection Commission	https://www.ccpc.ie/
Central Bank	https://centralbank.ie/
Cirrus Insight	https://cirrusinsight.com/
CNBC	https://cnbc.com/
The Conversation	https://theconversation.com/
Central Statistics Office	https://cso.ie/
World Bank	https://data.worldbank.org
Carnegie Mellon University: Digital Collection	https://digitalcollections.library.cmu.edu/
DSpace - digital repository for MIT's research	https://dspace.mit.edu/
European Commission	https://ec.europa.eu/
Eurostat	https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/
European Central Bank	https://ecb.europa.eu/
The Economist	https://economist.com/
Environmental Protection Agency	https://epa.ie/
Economic and Social Research Institute	https://esri.ie/
European Union	https://europa.eu/
European Parliament	https://europarl.europa.eu/
Irish Fiscal Advisory Council	https://fiscalcouncil.ie/
Financial Times	https://ft.com/
Government of Ireland	https://gov.ie/
UK government	https://gov.uk/
The Guardian	https://theguardian.com/
Harvard Business Review	https://hbr.org/
Harvard University Press	http://hup.harvard.edu/

Independent Commission for the Reform of International Corporate Taxation	https://www.icrict.com/
Institute of Economic Affairs	http://www.iea.org.uk/
International Monetary Fund	https://imf.org/
Independent	https://independent.ie/
IndexMundi	https://www.indexmundi.com/
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change	https://www.ipcc.ch/
European Commission Representation in Ireland	https://ireland.representation.ec.europa.eu/
Ireland's Sustainable Development Goals	https://irelandsdg.geohive.ie/
Irish Economy	http://irisheconomy.ie/
Irish Examiner	https://www.irishexaminer.com/
Irish Times	https://irishtimes.com/
The Journal	https://thejournal.ie/
Plos - Research journals	http://journals.plos.org
US Department of Justice	https://justice.gov/
Department of Justice, Home Affairs and Migration, Ireland	https://www.justice.ie/
Paul Krugman / New York Times Blog	https://krugman.blogs.nytimes.com/
The Lancet	https://thelancet.com/
Little, Brown and Company	https://littlebrown.com/
The London School of Economics and Political Science	https://lse.ac.uk/
News - Media Alliance	http://magazine.org/
Marginal Revolution	http://marginalrevolution.com/
Market Watch	https://marketwatch.com/
The National Academies Press	https://nap.edu/
Nature	https://nature.com
National Bureau of Economic Research	https://nber.org/
National Library of Medicine	https://ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
Nevin Economic Research Institute	https://www.nerinstitute.net/
The New York Times	https://nytimes.com
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development	https://oecd.org/
Houses of Oireachtas	https://oireachtas.ie/
Wiley - Online Library	https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/

Paddle	https://www.paddle.com/
The Sloman Economics News Site	https://pearsonblog.campaignserver.co.uk/
Philosophical Economics	http://www.philosophicaleconomics.com/
The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences	https://pnas.org/
Princeton University Press	https://press.princeton.edu/
ProMarket: Insights shaping the future of capitalism	https://promarket.org/
Public Policy	https://publicpolicy.ie/
National Library of Medicine	https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
Quartz	https://qz.com/
Revenue	https://revenue.ie/
RTE	https://rte.ie/
Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland	https://seai.ie/
The Society for Judgment and Decision Making	http://www.sjdm.org/
Social Justice Ireland	https://socialjustice.ie/
The Spectator	http://www.spectator.co.uk/
TASC	https://tasc.ie/
TED	https://ted.com/
TED: Economics	https://ted.com/topics/economics/
UN Government Programme	https://unep.org/
CSO Interactive Data Visualisation	https://visual.cso.ie/
Vox	https://www.vox.com/
Voxeu	https://voxeu.org/
The Washington Post	https://washingtonpost.com/
World Economic Forum	https://weforum.org/
Wired	https://wired.com/
The Wall Street Journal	https://wsj.com/

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.


Keith Brittle	Shannon Mallon	Isobel Dunne