Skip to main content

Past Theses Guide: Past NCI Theses Online

What is NORMA?

Past theses and research produced by NCI students and staff can be accessed online through the NORMA eResearch @NCI Library repository. You can access NORMA through the library's main webpage by selecting the Theses & Research link.

The library also has a collection of hard copy theses which can be borrowed for short loan for use in the library. For more information regarding the library's hard copy theses collection, please speak to a member of library staff.

*Please note: NORMA does not house full text versions of all of these works - some may have an abstract or description, yet it may be published in full elsewhere.*

Past Theses Hard Copy Collection

NCI library houses a small collection of past theses in a hard copy format within the library. To see if there is a particular thesis available in hard copy, you can check the library catalogue or speak to a member of library staff at the services desk. Make sure you know the name of the author of the theses as well as the year and the course.

How do I search for theses?

NORMA is an open access repository that can be accessed through the NCI Library website. To do a quick search for theses in NORMA, use the search bar on the NORMA homepage.

You an also browse through the past theses and research on NORMA by selecting one of the browsing options as seen below:

To browse through theses and research from a specific course, select Browse by Division.

The Advanced Search allows you to control your search by selecting where you want to look for your keywords within the repository. You can search specifically within the text, title and/or abstract and you can also search by a specific creator and/or date. 

Loading ...

Theses From Other Institutions

If you can't find past NCI theses or research on a particular topic or you would like to look outside of the library's collection, the following are some suggested sites to take a look at:

http://rian.ie - The first and primary site for Irish material, this site hosts theses from all seven Irish universities and is easy to use.
https://core.ac.uk/ - Core provides open access to millions of research papers, it offers datasets for the purpose of text mining and further aggregation services.
http://www.dart-europe.eu/basic-search.php - Dart Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia which provides access to European Electronic Theses and Dissertations.
http://ethos.bl.uk/Home.do - This is a separate site where you can access UK theses exclusively.
https://biblioboard.com/opendisserations/ - This is a further open access site containing over 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations.

Need Advice for your Assignments or Research?

Keith Brittle Cory Newbigging
For Quick Queries:

Phone Us:
+353 01 4498645 +353 01 4498733
Or Drop In:
Located in the centre of the NCI Library
Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.