Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Norma Smurfit Library: Home

  • Discovery
  • Catalogue
  • A-Z eJournals

Announcement

During the current restrictions, we would advise students to use the Online Library Resources as much as possible. This includes ebooks, databases, academic journals, and more. These resources are available 24/7 and from any location. Library staff is available for online support by email (library@ncirl.ie) and LibChat. Or you can contact the Library Help Centre for one to one support for assignments and research via email (libraryhelpcentre@ncirl.ie) or through online appointments available to be booked here.

For details on booking a space and all other on-campus services see our Remote Learning & Library Supports guide.

Please note that our services have been developed in line with Government, Health & Safety, and College protocols and are subject to change at short notice - please check the library and college websites for updates.

Scopus database issue 25th February 2021: 

There is an issue accessing the Scopus database through the A-Z databases page at the moment. In the meantime, once you have logged in to this database, click X in the top right hand corner of the box looking for your email address. Once this has been done, you will proceed to the database directly. This issue has been logged with the supplier, apologies for any inconvenience caused. As soon as there is a further update on this issue, it will be posted here. 

ProQuest eBook Central update 16th February 2021: 

As part of a trial that the library is currently doing with ProQuest eBook Central, there will be additional ebooks available in ProQuest eBook Central until the 28 February 2021. Once this trial is over, the content in this database will return to ebooks purchased by the library for student and staff use. 

Check out our new Remote Learning & Library Supports guide to find out all you need to know regarding our on-campus and remote services and supports. This guide will be continually updated as college management and government guidelines evolve. Any and all comments/queries are welcome at library@ncirl.ie or on LibChat on this website. You can access this guide by clicking on the image above and at the following link: https://libguides.ncirl.ie/learningandsupport

Current Library Information 

Please Note: From January 4th we will continue to provide our Click & Collect book service and you can access campus to return books as well. Click & Collect service will be available from 9:00 to 17:00 Monday to Friday. Collect items from NCI College Reception. Study spaces located in allocated classrooms on campus will continue to be available to book. We would advise all users to check out the following guide for detailed information  ‘Remote Learning & Library Supports'.  Students should note that access & times may change due to Government Guidelines, we are advising students to check the library website each day for any updates.  

Please be aware that even though we can't currently offer face to face service, all other library services are operating as normal. You can continue to access the library's online resources and receive assistance via LibChat or email. The Library Help Centre - also continues to offer you help with your assignments and research, please feel free to contact us. Lastly, just a reminder that all fines generated on books during the college closure will be waived. Stay safe. The date for re-opening is subject to ongoing review and information for all current and incoming students is available here.
Website link:  https://libguides.ncirl.ie/library    Library Help Centre Email:  libraryhelpcentre@ncirl.ie   Library Email: library@ncirl.ie

Opening Hours

Please Note: From January 4th we will continue to provide our Click & Collect book service and you can access campus to return books as well. Study spaces located in allocated classrooms on campus will continue to be available to book. Library staff is available for online support by email (library@ncirl.ie) and LibChat. 

Chat to Us

Library FAQs

News

Loading ...