Skip to Main Content
NCI WEBSITE COURSES STUDENTS STAFF
NCI WEBSITE
LIBRARY LOGIN
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Artificial Intelligence Subject Guide: Library Resources

This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on artificial intelligence. You can use it to: 

  • locate books, eBooks and journal articles
  • search relevant databases
  • connect to useful websites
  • reference properly and avoid plagiarism

The books in the library are organised first by number and then alphabetically by author's surname. Each book number corresponds to a subject area. Use the Library Catalogue to search for books from your reading lists and course material. If you need help using the Library Catalogue, take a look at our Finding Books guide.

Remember to consult your reading lists and course material for more detail on your recommended texts. To help you get started the numbers below may be helpful for finding books.

Artificial Intelligence Subject Areas:

006.3 Artificial Intelligence
006.31  Machine Learning
006.3/006.312 Data Mining
174.9/174.90904  Ethics & Information Technology/Computers
303.483 Influence of Computer Technology
303.4833 Internet
342.240858  EU Data Protection Law
519.5 Statistics for Business and Economics/Data Analysis
519.50285  Statistical Computer Software
658.4038  Business Information Systems/Management Information Systems

You can also access some relevant material by using the eBooks available through the library. You can access our main ebook databases here.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence eBooks:

Artificial Intelligence with Python: Your complete guide to building intelligent apps using Python 3.x, 2nd Edition by Alberto Artasanchez | Goodreads Artasanchez, A. and Joshi, P. (2020) Artificial intelligence with Python. 2nd edn. O’Reilly. Data governance: How to design, deploy, and sustain an effective data governance program</em>. 2nd edn. VLeBooks Ladley, J. (2019) Data governance: How to design, deploy, and sustain an effective data governance program. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.
Barocas, S., Hardt, M. and Narayanan, N. (2023) <em>Fairness and machine learning: Limitations and opportunities</em>. Barocas, S., Hardt, M. and Narayanan, N. (2023) Fairness and machine learning: Limitations and opportunities. Lambert, J. (2022) <em>Statistical formulae tables: Postgraduate studies</em>. Moodle/Libguide. Lambert, J. (2022) Statistical formulae tables: Postgraduate studies. Moodle/Libguide.
Big data challenges: society, security, innovation and ethics Bunnik, A., Cawley, A., Mulqueen, M. and Zwitter, A. (eds.) (2016) Big data challenges: Society, security, innovation and ethics. ProQuest Ebook Central. Machine learning with R: expert techniques for predictive modeling Lantz, B. (2019) Machine learning with R: Expert techniques for predictive modelling. 3rd edn. O’Reilly.
Ethical reasoning in big data: an exploratory analysis Collmann, J. and Mattei, S. A. (eds.) (2016) Ethical reasoning in big data: An exploratory analysis. ProQuest Ebook Central. Statistics McClave, J. T. and Sincich, T. (2018) Statistics. 13th edn. VLeBooks.
Fundamentals of Business Process Management.pdf - Free download books Dumas, M., La Rosa, M., Mendling, J. and Reijers, H. A. (2018) Fundamentals of business process management. 2nd edn. VLeBooks. Python for data analysis McKinney, W. (2022) Python for data analysis. 3rd edn. O’Reilly.
Deep learning Goodfellow, I., Bengio, Y. and Courville, A. (2016) Deep learning. ProQuest Ebook Central. Ethical data and information management: concepts, tools and methods O’Keefe, K. and O’Brien, D. (2018) Ethical data and information management: Concepts, tools and methods. ProQuest Ebook Central.
James, G., Witten, D., Hastie, T. and Tibshirani, R. (2021) <em>An introduction to statistical learning: with applications in R</em>. 2nd edn. VLeBooks. James, G., Witten, D., Hastie, T. and Tibshirani, R. (2021) An introduction to statistical learning: with applications in R. 2nd edn. VLeBooks. Artificial intelligence: a modern approach Russell, S. J. and Norvig, P. (2021) Artificial intelligence: A modern approach. 3rd edn. ProQuest Ebook Central. 
Ontologies with Python: Programming OWL 2.0 Ontologies with Python and Owlready2 Jean-Baptiste, L. (2020) Ontologies with Python: Programming OWL 2.0 ontologies with Python and Owlready2. O’Reilly. Data privacy and GDPR handbook Sharma, S. (2019) Data privacy and GDPR handbook. O’Reilly.
Fundamentals of Machine Learning for Predictive Data Analytics, Second Edition : Algorithms, Worked Examples, and Case Studies Cover Image Kelleher, J. D., MacNamee, B. and D’Arcy, A. (2020) Fundamentals of machine learning for predictive data analytics: Algorithms, worked examples, and case studies. 2nd edn. ProQuest Ebook Central. Information governance: concepts, strategies, and best practices Smallwood, R. F. (2020) Information governance: Concepts, strategies, and best practices. O’Reilly.

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

There are over 100 titles in the Springer AI collection, here you can find a few of the selected titles - for further titles, click on the link at the foot of the page.

Selected Artificial Intelligence eBooks:

Bai Y. (2025) AI foundations and applications with MATLAB. Leofante, F. and Wicker, M. (2025) Robust explainable AI.
Bairwa, A. K., Tiwari, V., Vishwakarma, S. K., Tuba, M. and Ganokratanaa, T. (2025) Computation of artificial intelligence and machine learning: first international conference. Liu, J., Wang, Y., Wu, B., Jiang,  Z. and Xiao, Y. (2025) The proceedings of 2024 international conference on artificial intelligence and autonomous transportation.
Brefeld, U., Davis, J., Haaren, J. V. and Zimmermann, A. (2025) Machine learning and data mining for sports analytics: 11th international workshop. Lu, H. (2025) Artificial intelligence and robotics: 9th international symposium.
Dhar, S., Goswami, S., Krishnan, D. K. U., Bose, I., Rameshwar, D. and Mazumdar, C. (2025) Analytics, machine learning, and artificial intelligence: Second Analytics Global Conference. Meo, R. and Silvestri, F. (2025) Machine learning and principles and practice of knowledge discovery in databases: international workshops of ECML PKDD.
Dhoska, K. and Spaho, E. (2025) Bridging horizons in artificial intelligence, robotics, cybersecurity, smart cities, and digital economy: proceedings of the 4th international conference on intelligence-based transformations of technology and business trends. Montag, C. and Ali R. (2025) The impact of artificial intelligence on societies: understanding attitude formation towards AI.
Esposito, A., Faundez-Zanuy, M., Morabito, F. C., Pasero E. and Cordasco, G. (2025) Advanced neural artificial intelligence: theories and applications. Natarajan, V. (2025) Computational artificial intelligence and methods for industries: a machine-generated literature overview.
Fujii, K. (2025) Machine learning in sports: open approach for next play analytics. Quarteroni, A. (2025) Artificial intelligence: unveiling the truth beyond the myths.
Jahankhani, H. and Issac, B. (2025) Cybersecurity and human capabilities through symbiotic artificial intelligence: proceedings of the 16th international conference on global security, safety and sustainability. Schlippe, T., Cheng, E. C. K. and Wang, T. (2025) Artificial intelligence in education technologies: new development and innovative practices: proceedings of 2024 5th international conference on artificial intelligence in education technology.
Kempt, H. (2025) Chatbots and the domestication of AI: a relational approach. Lightbox view of the cover for Artificial Intelligence: Theory and Applications Sharma, H., Chakravorty, A., Hussain, S. and Kumari, R. (2025) Artificial intelligence: theory and applications.
Kulkarni, P., Rajasekera, J. and Chaudhuri, B. B. (2025) AI empowered digital business innovation. Yannakakis, G. N. and Togelius, J. (2025) Artificial intelligence and games.

Explore more titles which are regularly updated under the Springer Artificial Intelligence eBook collection

In order to access journal articles and other online material for your subject area, you can consult the recommended databases that are relevant to your particular subject area individually and are displayed below. For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence Databases:

Database & Subject Areas Access Through

ACM Digital Library
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Business Source Ultimate
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Law, Management, Marketing, Psychology

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

IEEE Xplore
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
ProQuest Business Premium Collection
Includes access to the Economist and the Wall Street Journal
Subject Areas: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

SAGE Journals

Subject Areas: Engineering, Computing, Materials Science, Neuroscience

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

ScienceDirect
Offers journal articles and book chapters from 2,500 journals and nearly 20,000 books.
Subject Areas: Computing

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide
Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Statista

Statistics platform, over 1.5 million data sets
Subject Areas: Business, Commerce, Company Profiles, Finance, Marketing, Statistics, Reports

For off campus access go here

User Guide

You can access the journals below through the A-Z eJournals page or through Discovery.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence Journals:

Academy of Management Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
ACM Computer Surveys (Database: ACM Digital Library)
ACM Transactions on Knowledge Discovery from Data (Database: ACM Digital Library)
AI and Ethics (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
AI & Society (Database: Lecture Notes in Computer Science)
AI Magazine (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Applied Energy (Database: ScienceDirect)
Applied Ergonomics (Database: ScienceDirect)
Applied Sciences (Open Access: https://www.mdpi.com/journal/applsci)
Applied Soft Computing (Database: ScienceDirect)
Business & Society Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience (Open Access: https://catalystjournal.org/index.php/catalyst)
Communications of the ACM (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Communications of the Association for Information Systems (Database: Business Source Ultimate/ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Complex & Intelligent Systems (Database: SpringerLink Open access)
Computer Law & Security Review (Database: ScienceDirect)
Data Mining & Knowledge Discovery (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Ethics and Information Technology (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
European Journal of Operational Research (Database: Science Direct)
Expert Systems with Applications (Database: Science Direct)
Frontiers in Neuroinformatics (Open Access: https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/neuroinformatics)
Harvard Business Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Human Resource Management (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
IEEE Access (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Expert (Database: IEEE Xplore) 
IEEE Intelligent Systems (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Computational Social Systems (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Knowledge & Data Engineering (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Multimedia (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE Transactions on Robotics (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IFAC-PapersOnLine (Database: ScienceDirect)
Industrial Marketing Management (Database: ScienceDirect)
Information (Database: EBSCO Open Access Journals)
Information Fusion (Database: Science Direct)
Information Systems Research (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Information Visualization (Database: SAGE Journals)
International Data Privacy Law (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
International Journal of Human-Computer Studies (Database: ScienceDirect)
International Journal of Information Management (Database: Science Direct)
International Journal of Management Reviews (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
International Journal of Molecular Sciences (Database: Academic Search Complete)
International Review of Economics Education (Database: ScienceDirect)
JAMA Network Open (Database: EBSCO Open Access)
Journal of Applied Behavioral Science (Database: SAGE Journals)
Journal of Business Ethics (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Cleaner Production (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Industrial Information Integration (Database: ScienceDirect)
Journal of Information, Communication and Ethics in Society (ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Journal of Management Studies (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Journal of Risk & Uncertainty (Database: Business Source Ultimate/ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Minerva (Database: Academic Search Complete/Education Source Ultimate)
MIS Quarterly (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
MIT Sloan Management Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
MIT Technology Review (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Multimedia Tools and Applications (Database: ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Neurocomputing (Database: ScienceDirect)
Organization Studies (Database: Business Source Ultimate)
Organizational Dynamics (Database: ScienceDirect)
PLoS Biology (Database: EBSCO Open Access/Academic Search Complete)
Procedia Computer Science (Database: ScienceDirect)
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States Of America (Database: EBSCO Open Access Journals)
Society (Database: Academic Search Complete/ProQuest Business Premium Collection)
Swarm and Evolutionary Computation (Database: ScienceDirect)
Technology and Regulation (Open Access: https://techreg.org/)
Technometrics (Database: Business Premium Collection)

undefined

You can access conferences going to the appropriate database link and searching for the conference title within that database.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence Conferences:

AAAI/ACM Conference on AI, Ethics, and Society (Database: ACM Digital Library)
ACM Conference on Fairness, Accountability, and Transparency (Database: ACM Digital Library)
ACM SIGKDD International Conference on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Annual Meeting of the Association for Computational Linguistics (Open Access: https://www.aclweb.org/portal/acl) 
CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)
IEEE/ACM International Workshop on Equitable Data & Technology (FairWare) (Database: ACM Digital Library/IEEE Xplore)
IEEE/CVF Winter Conference on Applications of Computer Vision (WACV) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE/CVPR Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
IEEE International Conference on Big Data (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Algorithms, Computing and Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)
International Conference on Computer & Information Sciences (ICCOINS) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE) (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Machine Learning and Cybernetics (Database: IEEE Xplore)
International Conference on Software Engineering (Database: ACM Digital Library/IEEE Xplore)
International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence (Open Access: https://www.ijcai.org/all_proceedings) 
International Symposium on Electronics and Smart Devices (Database: IEEE Xplore)
Proceedings of Machine Learning Research (Open Access: https://proceedings.mlr.press/) 
Proceedings of the 10th ACM Conference on Recommender Systems (Database: ACM Digital Library)
Proceedings of the 24th International Conference on Machine Learning (Database: ACM Digital Library)

In addition to using library resources, your reading lists may also recommend consulting a number of online video channels. Below is a selection of some recommended video channels.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence Video Channels:

A Data Odyssey Data exploration, interpretable machine learning, explainable AI and algorithm fairness
DigitalSreeni Python coding channel
European Parliamentary Research Service Provides comprehensive research and analytical support to the Members of the European Parliament, its parliamentary committees and the European Parliament
Google DeepMind AI research and technology
Mahesh Huddar Channel provides tutorials on many computer science and engineering subjects including artificial intelligence
IBM Research A channel devoted to a group of researchers, scientists, technologists, designers, and thinkers inventing what’s next in computing
IBM Technology Whether it’s AI, automation, cybersecurity, data science, DevOps, quantum computing or anything in between, this channel provides educational content on the biggest topics in tech
IT Governance Ltd IT Governance Ltd provides specialist services and solutions to businesses and companies who need help in information security, data protection, compliance and risk assessment
Yann LeCun Topics include artificial intelligence, deep learning, machine learning, computer vision, natural language understanding and robotics
Patrick Loeber Free Python and machine learning tutorials
Bernard Marr Award-winning and best-selling author in the fields of business and technology, Bernard Marr writes a regular column for Forbes and advises and works with many of the world’s best-known organisations - ranked by LinkedIn as one of the top 5 business influencers in the world
McKinsey & Company A global management consulting firm and trusted advisor to leading businesses, governments, and institutions
Rob Mulla A channel that features videos that showcase what is possible with data science and programming
Krish Naik Channel run by the founder of KrishAI Technologies Private Limited where various topics on machine learning, deep learning, and AI with many real-world problem scenarios are explained
NVIDIA NVIDIA has been a pioneer in accelerated computing and is now a full-stack computing infrastructure company with data-center-scale offerings
Eugene O’Loughlin This channel features three types of videos: 1: How To... 2: Problem-solving 3: Statistics 4: Programming in R
Preserve Knowledge Perserve Knowledge is a Canada higher education media organization that focuses on advances in mathematics, computer science, and artificial intelligence
RAIL The official channel of the Robotic AI & Learning Lab at UC Berkeley
Serrano.Academy A channel that prioritises the topics machine learning and mathematics (probability and statistics)
Bevan Smith Data science channel
Spotify R&D Spotify R&D represents the technical community of engineers, researchers, product managers, and designers at Spotify
StatQuest with Josh Starmer Channel featuring material on statistics, machine learning, data science, and AI
TED Talks Features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference
TensorFlow The official YouTube channel for TensorFlow, an open-source machine learning framework for everyone
3Blue1Brown Videos here cover a variety of topics in maths, or adjacent fields like physics and computer science, all with an emphasis on visualizing the core ideas using animation 
Mısra Turp This channel can help you understand the most important data science and machine learning concepts, hands-on where applicable
Udacity Featuring in-demand skills for the careers of today and tomorrow, their curriculum is co-created with the world’s most innovative tech companies and taught by industry leaders
UiPath Featuring content on agentic automation, autonomous AI agents and powerful automation tools, this channel showcases how organizations scale impact with AI-powered agents, rethink business processes, and unlock time for work that matters

In addition to using library resources, your reading lists also recommend consulting a number of external sites. Below is a selection of some recommended websites.

Recommended Artificial Intelligence External Websites (select an alphabetical range below):

AllegroGraph https://allegrograph.com
Altair RapidMiner https://altair.com/altair-rapidminer
Anaconda https://www.anaconda.com
Analytics Vidhya https://www.analyticsvidhya.com
Apache Cassandra https://cassandra.apache.org
Apache Hadoop https://hadoop.apache.org
Apache HBase https://hbase.apache.org
Apache Hive https://hive.apache.org
Apache Phoenix https://phoenix.apache.org
Apache Spark https://spark.apache.org
AWS (Amazon Web Services) https://aws.amazon.com
BioStrand https://blog.biostrand.ai
Built In https://builtin.com
Clustering Visualizer https://clustering-visualizer.web.app
Colab https://colab.research.google.com/
ConceptNet https://conceptnet.io/
CYC https://cyc.com
Dama International https://www.dama.org
DataCamp https://www.datacamp.com
Data Governance Institute https://datagovernance.com/
data.gov.ie https://data.gov.ie
Data Protection Commission https://www.dataprotection.ie/en
Dataversity https://www.dataversity.net/
Michael DeBellis https://www.michaeldebellis.com
Directorate-General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG Connect): European Commissio https://digital-strategy.ec.europa.eu/en
Edureka https://www.edureka.co
EUR-Lex https://eur-lex.europa.eu/homepage.html
European Court of Human Rights https://www.echr.coe.int
European Data Protection Board https://www.edpb.europa.eu/edpb_en
European Data Protection Supervisor https://www.edps.europa.eu/_en
European Parliament https://www.europarl.europa.eu
GeeksforGeeks https://www.geeksforgeeks.org
General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) https://gdpr-info.eu
GitHub https://github.com/
Google Dataset Search https://datasetsearch.research.google.com
The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/
Gymnasium https://gymnasium.farama.org
Danijar Hafner https://danijar.com
Harvard Business Review https://hbr.org/

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.

Keith
Brittle		 Shannon
Mallon		 Isobel Dunne
Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on Facebook Twitter Instagram
Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account.