LibGuides: Literature Review Guide: Further Resources

Check Out These Books

Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by Mike Wallace; Alison Wray
2021, 4th edition. Shelfmark: 808.02
Doing a Literature Review by Chris Hart
2018, 2nd edition. Shelfmark: 300.72
The Literature Review by Diana Ridley
2012, 2nd edition. Shelfmark: 808.02

Useful Websites & Guides

University of Manchester Academic Phrasebank

University of Hull Critical Writing Guide

In addition to these external resources, don't forget to check out the Library Academic Support Centre's Academic Writing Skills Guide.

See below for some recommended eBooks available through the library. You can also access our main eBook databases here.

Recommended eBooks:

	Bailey, S. (2020) Academic writing for international students of business and economics. 3rd edn. ProQuest eBook Central.		Machi, L. A. and McEvoy, B. T. (2022) The literature review: Six steps to success. 4th edn. Sage Research Methods.
	Biggam, J. (2011) Succeeding with your master's dissertation: A step-by-step handbook. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.		Saunders, M., Lewis, P., and Thornhill, A. (2023) Research methods for business. 9th edn. VLeBooks.
	Quinlan, C., Babin, B., Carr, J., Griffin, M. and Zikmu, W. (2019) Business research methods. 2nd edn. VLeBooks.

You can find more eBooks by searching the library catalogue or check out our eBooks page and our eBooks guide for further details.

For a full list of databases NCI Library subscribes to, go to A-Z Databases on the library webpage.

Recommended Databases:

Database & Subject Areas

Access Through

SAGE Research Methods

Over 800 books, reference works, journal articles and videos from SAGE’s research methods list.
Subject Areas: writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analysing data and writing up findings

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Scopus

Abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature review
Subject Areas: Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

Discovery

A-Z Databases

User Guide

Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.


Keith Brittle	Shannon Mallon	Isobel Dunne