Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National College of Ireland

NCI LIBRARY

Datasets and Statistics: External Websites

Subject guide for datasets and statistics

datasets and statistics

Websites for Irish Datasets and statistics

The Central Bank is the main compiler of Irish financial statistics. Their analysis informs the decisions of the European Central Bank, the Government, financial services firms and the public. The Central Bank’s published data and commentary covers areas such as credit and deposits developments, mortgage arrears, interest rates, investment funds, securities issues and quarterly financial accounts.

Central Statistics Office holds Statbank, census information, statistics on different public sector areas including business and employment data.  This site also includes international databases such as Eurostat, ECB, OECD and IMF.

https://data.gov.ie/ Ireland’s open data portal, promoting innovation and transparency through the publication of Irish public sector data in open, free and reusable formats.  8781 datasets available.

ESRI (Economic & Social Research Institute)

A leading European research centre in the social sciences focusing on economic and social change in Ireland.

The Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA) is Ireland’s leading centre for quantitative data acquisition, preservation, and dissemination. Based at UCD library, its mission is to ensure wide access to quantitative datasets in the social sciences, and to advance the promotion of international comparative studies of the Irish economy and Irish society.

 

Communications from the library

Please note all communications, from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your N.C.I. student email account.

Websites for international datasets and statistics

Amazon Web Services Public Data This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via AWS resources,

Datahub Thousands of datasets from financial market data and population growth to cryptocurrency prices.

EU Open Data Portal Access to European open data.  Browse datasets by subject or groups.

Google Dataset Search Search google for datasets.

Google Trends Latest stories and insights, and see what is trending

Google Finance Local and world market news

Google Public Data Explorer human development, international trade, and some US datasets.

IEEE Dataport IEEE DataPort™ is an easily accessible repository of datasets, including Big Data datasets.  IEEE DataPort™ is designed to make storage of datasets easier, provide access to valuable datasets across a broad scope of topics, facilitate analysis of datasets, and retain referenceable data for reproducible research.

Moodys Analytics Economic indicators by country/region and sectors such as business, government, trade, labor and markets.

OECD Stats includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies

Pew Research Datasets Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.  Search by subject areas such as US politics and policy, journalism and media, Internet Science and Tech, Religion and public life, hispanic trends, and global attitudes and trends.

Quandl The premier source for financial, economic, and alternative datasets, serving investment professionals. Quandl’s platform is used by over 250,000 people, including analysts from the world’s top hedge funds, asset managers and investment banks.

UCI Machine Learning Repository 452 datasets currently maintained as a service to the machine learning community.

UK Government Data Find data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies.

US Government Open Data Initiative Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data.  Includes DataBank, which is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Yahoo Webscope The Yahoo Webscope Program is a reference library of interesting and scientifically useful datasets for non-commercial use by academics and other scientists.  Yahoo is pleased to make these datasets available to researchers who are advancing the state of knowledge and understanding in web sciences. The datasets are only available for academic use by faculty and university researchers who agree to the Data Sharing Agreement.