Access to Online Resources
The online resources available to you through NCI Library are not resources found freely on the internet. NCI Library pays for access to hundreds of thousands of high quality, academic online resources.
To access our online resources, it is important for you to go through the NCI Library web page so that you are prompted to sign in in order to authenticate your access.
To sign in use your NCI student email address and password.
LibChat
If you have any issues accessing, finding, or using any of the library's online resources or services, chat live with a member of library staff through our LibChat service. You can access LibChat through the library's homepage. Select the speech bubble at the bottom right of the page the box below will pop-up.
*Note: Go here to stay up to date with our LibChat hours.
Via College Webpages
To quickly access the Library's homepage, select the 'QuickLinks' tab at the top of any of NCI's webpages.
Then select 'Library' from the 'For Students' list.
Via Moodle
Quickly access many of NCI Library's pages through your Dashboard on Moodle.
Discovery is the library's search engine. This is your one stop shop to search through most of the Library's resources including many databases, journals, and conference proceedings. It's a great place to start your research.
Take a look at our Discovery Guide to learn how to use it to navigate through the library online resources.
A database is a collection of information that can be searched through online. Databases host hundreds of thousands of resources including journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, newspapers and more. NCI Library subscribes to a number of online databases and as an NCI student, all of this content is available for you to use.
You can search through the databases by using Discovery or you can go to the A-Z Databases web page to go to a specific database. Alternatively, you can go to one of our Subject Guides and see which databases are recommended for that subject area.
Through the library, you have 24 hour access to over 150,000 journals (academic publications) and conference proceedings online. You can find journal articles by searching in Discovery or you can find a specific journal in the A-Z eJournals list. Also take a look at our Subject Guides for recommended journals/conference proceedings in your subject area.
You can access eBooks through seven of NCI Library's databases. Through these collections, you have access to over 60,000 eBooks. You can access eBooks through the library catalogue, Discovery or through the eBook databases. We also have an eBooks guide.
When you are studying for exams, it can be helpful to take a look at past exam paper examples. Through the NCI Library web page, you have access to past NCI exam papers held for a variety of module's. Select the Past Exams link on the library webpage for access; also take a look at our Exams Guide.
NCI Library provides open access to NCI Theses and Research. Through our NORMA repository, you can take a look at theses and research conducted by NCI students and staff; also see our Past Theses Guide.
Another way to find information on your particular subject or course, is by going to our Subject Guides. We have created these subject-specific guides to help you identify any books, ebooks, databases, journals and more, that are relevant to your subject or course.
Ever wondered why your lecturers ask you to use the library? Watch our quick video to find out what the differences are between the information found on the internet and the information found through the library. You'll also learn about the benefits of using library resources in your assignments.
Need advice for your assignments or research?
The Library Academic Support Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email and a drop-in service.
For more details about how we can help you, see here.
 |
 |
| Keith Brittle |
Shannon Mallon |
Keep up to date on any library news and resources by following @NCILibrary on    |
| Communications from the Library: Please note all communications from the library, concerning renewal of books, overdue books and reservations will be sent to your NCI student email account. |
